HRT, MHT and bioidentical hormones: what is actually different?
Are all menopause hormones the same, and what does bioidentical tell you?
On this page
HRT and MHT name hormone treatments for menopause-related problems. What matters is the exact preparation, treatment purpose, route, approval status and personal health context.[1]
What does this actually mean?
The meaning
Menopausal hormone therapy, often called MHT or HRT, uses hormone medicines for particular menopause-related problems. It is a family of treatments rather than one product. Estrogen may be used alone or with a progestogen; having a uterus is one major reason the distinction matters. The aim, preparation and route belong in the same conversation.[1]
Local and systemic are different
A skin patch or swallowed tablet can deliver hormones around the body: systemic treatment. Low-dose vaginal estrogen mainly treats local dryness and irritation, with much less reaching the rest of the body. It is not a treatment for hot flushes. “Vaginal” describes a route, so the actual product and intended exposure still matter.[2]
What bioidentical means
Bioidentical describes a hormone molecule matching one made by the body. It does not mean unprocessed, plant material applied directly, or free of risk. Some FDA-approved estradiol and progesterone medicines meet that molecular description. A pharmacy-compounded mixture is a different regulatory category; the two labels are not interchangeable.[3]
What a custom product does not prove
Personalized branding does not establish better outcomes. The FDA-commissioned 2020 National Academies review found little rigorous evidence establishing the safety and effectiveness of compounded bioidentical therapy. Poor comparative evidence is uncertainty, not proof that a particular mixture works better, nor proof that every person using one will be harmed.[4]
Why purpose changes the evidence
Relief of troublesome menopause symptoms and prevention of chronic disease in someone without symptoms are different decisions. The 2022 USPSTF recommendation against preventive systemic hormone use explicitly excludes symptom treatment, premature ovarian insufficiency and surgical menopause. Its conclusion should not be repackaged as a recommendation that nobody should receive hormone treatment.[6]
Warnings need context
On February 12, 2026, FDA approved six product-label changes, removing cardiovascular disease, breast cancer and probable dementia statements from boxed warnings.[8]
What to check
A warning change does not make every preparation suitable for everyone. Ask which exact medicine is approved, whether its goal is local or systemic symptom relief, what precautions remain, and how benefits and adverse effects will be reviewed. US approvals and NHS product descriptions have different jurisdictions; neither replaces the current label for the product offered.[9]
Evidence & uncertainty
Symptom relief, long-term prevention, product approval and a regulatory warning change answer different questions. This is a selected-source explanation, with current US label changes checked on October 15, 2026; it is not a prescribing guide or completed clinical review.[6]
Selected-source overview · Independent review pendingPublished questions
Are all menopause hormones the same, and what does bioidentical tell you?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Medicines differ by hormone, formulation, route and treatment purpose. Bioidentical means a molecule matches one made by the body; it does not establish approval, superior safety or that a product is compounded. Approved and compounded medicines are different categories.[1][3]
Evidence behind this answer
- Types of hormone replacement therapy (HRT)
official patient explanation · Date not stated
Selected relevant page passages inspected · Hormones; combined versus estrogen-only; routes and schedules - Compounded Bioidentical Hormone Therapy
professional guidance · 2019
Selected relevant page passages inspected · Introduction and considerations: definition, FDA-approved products, salivary tests
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can a saliva hormone test prove a compounded mixture is ideally customized?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
The Endocrine Society says claims that saliva tests reliably guide custom hormone dosing lack supporting scientific data on standardization and clinical meaning. A laboratory number is not proof of an individually optimized treatment.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- Compounded Bioidentical Hormone Therapy
professional guidance · 2019
Selected relevant page passages inspected · Introduction and considerations: definition, FDA-approved products, salivary tests
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does the USPSTF prevention recommendation cover all menopause treatment?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Its 2022 recommendation addresses systemic hormones used to prevent chronic conditions in asymptomatic postmenopausal people. It excludes treatment of menopause symptoms and does not apply to premature ovarian insufficiency or surgical menopause.[6]
Evidence behind this answer
- Hormone Therapy in Postmenopausal Persons: Primary Prevention of Chronic Conditions
official patient explanation · 2022
Selected relevant page passages inspected · 2022 recommendation scope, exclusions and evidence limitations
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Will low-dose vaginal estrogen treat hot flushes?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
It is aimed at local vaginal symptoms, such as dryness and irritation. With little hormone reaching the rest of the body, it does not provide the same effects as systemic treatment for hot flushes.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- About vaginal oestrogen
official patient explanation · Date not stated
Selected relevant page passages inspected · Local treatment, low systemic absorption and symptom scope
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Did the WHI mortality follow-up test every current hormone product?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. The 2017 analysis followed participants assigned to particular oral preparations for median treatment periods of 5.6 or 7.2 years. Cumulative eighteen-year mortality findings cannot identify the effects of every current formulation, route or compounded mixture.[7]
Evidence behind this answer
- Menopausal Hormone Therapy and Long-term All-Cause and Cause-Specific Mortality: WHI Randomized Trials
randomized trial long term followup · 2017
Indexed abstract; direct PubMed retrieval returned no abstract text · 2017 abstract: tested preparations, treatment periods and cumulative 18-year mortality
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Has compounded bioidentical therapy been proved safer than approved products?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
ACOG’s 2023 consensus says evidence does not support claims of superior safety or effectiveness and recommends approved preparations when available. That is a comparative evidence statement, not a claim that all hormone products have identical risks.[5]
Evidence behind this answer
- Compounded Bioidentical Menopausal Hormone Therapy
professional guidance · 2023
Indexed excerpt; direct page retrieval failed · Clinical consensus: FDA-approved alternatives and insufficient comparative evidence
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Approval, comparative safety and treatment goals need separate answers
Compounding evidence
FDA’s account of the National Academies review describes an evidence base relying heavily on reports and testimonials rather than well-controlled clinical studies. A person’s improvement can matter to that person without establishing a mixture’s comparative safety. Robust comparisons would need defined preparations, comparable participants, relevant outcomes and adequate follow-up.[4]
Ordinary product risks
FDA’s patient information lists health histories that can make hormone treatment unsuitable, including certain cancers, clotting histories and liver disease. It also explains why unopposed systemic estrogen can increase uterine-lining cancer risk when a uterus is present. These are reasons to identify the actual preparation and relevant history, rather than generalize from a social-media label.[10]
Long-term outcomes depend on which treatment and which people
What a follow-up study measured
The 2017 Women’s Health Initiative mortality report examined oral conjugated equine estrogens, with or without medroxyprogesterone acetate, in randomized trials. Across eighteen years of cumulative follow-up, these assignments were not associated with differences in all-cause, cardiovascular or cancer mortality overall. Treatment lasted only part of that follow-up. This does not prove every preparation prevents death, nor erase differences in individual nonfatal outcomes.[7]
Reading the revised warning
The revised February 2026 DIVIGEL label illustrates the systemic category: it retains a boxed endometrial-cancer warning and cardiovascular precautions. Removing selected boxed statements therefore does not remove every warning or contraindication. This concerns how risks are communicated, not a new head-to-head trial of every option. A current product label and individual benefit-risk discussion remain more useful than a universal dangerous-or-protective headline.[12]
A revised label still has precautions
For a concrete example, the ESTRING label linked by FDA in its updated-products list still includes contraindications and warnings. It describes systemic absorption as generally lower than with systemic estrogen and says the relevance of systemic risks to this local product is uncertain. A revised warning format is therefore not a statement of zero absorption or zero risk.[11]
References
- Types of hormone replacement therapy (HRT)
Official patient explanation
NHS · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: Hormones; combined versus estrogen-only; routes and schedules - About vaginal oestrogen
Official patient explanation
NHS · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: Local treatment, low systemic absorption and symptom scope - Compounded Bioidentical Hormone Therapy
Professional guidance
Endocrine Society · Content/publication date: 2019
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: Introduction and considerations: definition, FDA-approved products, salivary tests - NASEM Study on the Clinical Utility of Compounded Bioidentical Hormone Therapy
Official patient explanation
FDA reporting its commissioned NASEM review · Content/publication date: 2020
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: 2020 review findings: low-quality evidence and oversight limits - Compounded Bioidentical Menopausal Hormone Therapy
Professional guidance
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists · Content/publication date: 2023
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Indexed excerpt; direct page retrieval failed
Cited sections: Clinical consensus: FDA-approved alternatives and insufficient comparative evidence - Hormone Therapy in Postmenopausal Persons: Primary Prevention of Chronic Conditions
Official patient explanation
US Preventive Services Task Force · Content/publication date: 2022
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: 2022 recommendation scope, exclusions and evidence limitations - Menopausal Hormone Therapy and Long-term All-Cause and Cause-Specific Mortality: WHI Randomized Trials
Randomized trial long term followup
Manson and colleagues · Content/publication date: 2017
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Indexed abstract; direct PubMed retrieval returned no abstract text
Cited sections: 2017 abstract: tested preparations, treatment periods and cumulative 18-year mortality - FDA Approves Labeling Changes to Menopausal Hormone Therapy Products
Official patient explanation
FDA · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: February 12, 2026 approval announcement - FDA Requests Labeling Changes Related to Safety Information for Menopausal Hormone Therapies
Official patient explanation
FDA · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: Requested warning changes; retained systemic estrogen endometrial warning - Menopause
Official patient explanation
FDA · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected relevant page passages inspected
Cited sections: Hormone therapy: contraindications, benefits, risks and compounded products - ESTRING: estradiol vaginal system, physician’s leaflet
Regulatory prescribing information
FDA-approved prescribing information / Pfizer · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected PDF passages inspected; not all twenty pages independently reviewed
Cited sections: 2026 label pages5–7: indication, contraindications, warnings and systemic absorption - DIVIGEL: estradiol gel, prescribing information
Regulatory prescribing information
FDA-approved prescribing information / Vertical Pharmaceuticals · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected PDF passages inspected; not a full independent prescribing review
Cited sections: February 2026 highlights and boxed warning; sections4 and5
Scope & review
- Population
- Readers considering terminology around menopause treatment; not an individualized treatment population
- Exposure or intervention
- Menopausal hormone medicines and compounded preparations
- Comparison
- Definitions and purpose-specific evidence, not a complete treatment comparison
- Outcomes
- Symptom targets, approval, evidence limits and label interpretation
- Timeframe
- Sources checked October 15, 2026; individual publication dates identified
- Jurisdiction
- US FDA and USPSTF; UK NHS product explanations explicitly distinguished
Selected original agency and professional guidance and original study abstract; targeted search, not exhaustive synthesis or qualified clinical review.
Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.
Revision history
- 2026-10-15 UTC: Added the plain-English series explanation with definitions, distinctions, practical questions and selected primary sources; qualified review remains pending.
What this article still leaves open
- Absolute benefits and harms by specific preparation, route, age and clinical history.
- Independent reconciliation of divergent timing and mortality interpretations.
- Comparative long-term outcomes for currently marketed compounded preparations.
Suggest a correction
Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.
Your submitted corrections for this article
More in the plain-English series
Keep making sense of it.
Explore Prevention & care explanations See every explanationExplore the topic map
Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.