Third-party tested, certified, FDA registered: what do these claims tell you?
Find out who checked what, and which questions remain.
On this page
Certification is written assurance from an independent body that specified requirements are met. Accreditation recognizes the competence of a body performing particular activities. Both depend on a defined scope: a seal is meaningful only when the reader can identify the requirements, issuer and covered product.[1]
What does this actually mean?
The meaning
Third-party tested alone does not identify the tested product, measurements or limits. Certification concerns requirements within a named scheme; accreditation concerns competence for specified work. Check who assessed what: management-system certification and product certification cover different things.[1]
A supplement example
USP describes its Verified Mark as checking labeled ingredients and amounts, specified contaminants, how a supplement breaks down, and manufacturing practices. Those are useful quality questions. They do not answer whether that supplement improves your symptoms or belongs in your personal treatment plan. Check that the actual product bears the program’s mark; a label saying it uses a USP-grade ingredient is not the same claim as verification of the finished product.[10]
Different seals ask different questions
NSF Certified for Sport adds screening for banned substances and includes formulation review, inspections and ongoing monitoring. This is particularly relevant to athletic eligibility. It is still a defined testing program, not a guarantee that a substance can never be missed or that taking the supplement improves performance. Use the program’s own current directory to match the product, including available lot information, rather than relying on an unfamiliar badge on a marketplace image.[11]
What FDA registered means for a device
FDA establishment registration and device listing are administrative records. They do not denote approval, clearance or authorization of a medical device. FDA does not issue registration certificates that turn this record into a product endorsement. If a seller of a home device displays a registration certificate, ask for the separate regulatory pathway and check the exact device in the relevant FDA database. Different devices have different requirements.[9]
The cosmetic version
FDA made the same distinction explicit for cosmetics in September 2026: facility registration and product listing are not a cosmetic approval program. A registration or listing number does not establish approval of a cream or its manufacturer. FDA also says it does not provide certificates or letters verifying this compliance. A seller’s impressive-looking certificate should therefore not be read as proof that FDA tested the product or endorsed its advertised benefits.[8]
What a seal does not tell you
Environmental seals should explain their scope and financial ties; claims still need evidence.[7]
What to check
Match the exact product to the certifier’s directory, identify the named program, and read its tested attributes. NSF’s Contents Certified description distinguishes ingredient identity, label accuracy, applicable contaminant screening and continuing audits. Those details are more informative than third-party tested alone.[4]
Different documents answer different questions
| Term | What it establishes | Boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Product certification | Assessment against named product, process or service requirements | ISO/IEC 17065 concerns the bodies issuing this kind of certification[2] |
| Laboratory accreditation | Competence, impartiality and consistent laboratory operation | It concerns specified testing activities, rather than a blanket product approval[3] |
| Management-system certification | Conformity of a management system with specified requirements | ISO itself does not perform certification or issue the certificate[1] |
Start with the exact claim, not the appearance of a badge
A seller can display a certificate that concerns a factory, a management system, a particular product or a narrowly defined attribute. These are different objects of assessment. ISO/IEC 17065 addresses bodies certifying products, processes and services; its publicly available scope does not establish that a particular seller is certified. Record the issuer, scheme and product identifier before interpreting the claim. A standard number should lead to a verifiable scope, rather than serve as a decorative signal of scientific authority.[2]
An accredited laboratory still needs a relevant method
ISO/IEC 17025 addresses laboratory competence, impartiality and consistent operation. Identify the laboratory and relevant accredited activity. Its scope should cover the method and material. Accreditation does not establish clinical effectiveness or turn an untested contaminant into a tested one.[3]
Evidence & uncertainty
A certification can improve confidence in a stated attribute without establishing every health benefit. The examples below describe actual schemes and their boundaries. Program descriptions are evidence about what is checked; they are not clinical trials showing that every certified product improves health.[4]
Selected-source overview · Independent review pendingPublished questions
Does ISO issue an ISO certificate?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
ISO develops standards and does not issue certification itself. Identify the certification body and verify the certificate through that body or its accreditor. The words ISO certified without a standard, covered scope and issuer provide too little information to evaluate the claim.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Certification and accreditation
technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Definitions; ISO does not certify; certificate verification
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does an accredited lab make a product medically effective?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Laboratory competence and a product’s clinical effect are different questions. Check that the relevant measurement is within scope, then assess health claims using evidence for the actual formulation and intended outcome. Accreditation is useful, but it does not substitute for that evidence.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- ISO/IEC 17025:2017
technical or regulatory guidance · 2017
Official public scope inspected; paid standard text not inspected · Public scope: competence, impartiality and consistent operation
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does a contents seal prove a supplement works?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
A contents scheme checks specified composition and quality attributes. Evidence that a supplement treats or prevents a condition requires relevant clinical research. Verify the specific program rather than interpreting all nutrition seals as equivalent assurances.[4]
Evidence behind this answer
- NSF Contents Certified
technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Identity; label accuracy; risk-based screening; ongoing audits
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
What does Safer Choice cover?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
EPA checks ingredients and additional formulation criteria, including performance and pH, and conducts annual audits. The fragrance-free designation is optional and distinct. Read the specific label and use directions rather than converting safer ingredients into an unlimited safety claim.[5]
Evidence behind this answer
- Learn about the Safer Choice label
technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Ingredients; performance; pH; annual audits; alternate labels
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
How can I check who certifies an organic operation?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
USDA’s Organic INTEGRITY system provides a certifier locator. Match the actual certifying agent and operation information. A similar-looking badge or marketing phrase is not sufficient evidence that the claimed operation is covered by the organic certification system.[6]
Evidence behind this answer
- Accredited certifying agents
technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Authorized certifiers; Organic INTEGRITY locator
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can a third-party seal still be misleading?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Yes. A narrow certification can be advertised in a way that implies unsupported broader benefits. FTC guidance calls for clear disclosure of the certification’s basis and material connections. Ask whether the advertised benefit is actually among the assessed requirements.[7]
Evidence behind this answer
- Environmental claims: summary of the Green Guides
technical or regulatory guidance · 2012
Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Certifications and seals: clear basis, connections and substantiation
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does FDA registered mean a product is FDA approved?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. For medical devices, establishment registration and listing do not establish approval, clearance or authorization. Check the device’s separate regulatory status rather than accepting a registration certificate as proof.[9]
Evidence behind this answer
- Are There FDA Registered or FDA Certified Medical Devices? How Do I Know What Is FDA Approved?
agency or professional guidance · Date not stated
Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Establishment registration, device listing, certificates and verification of approval/clearance/authorization
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does FDA issue approval certificates for registered cosmetic factories?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
FDA’s September 2026 clarification says it does not provide certificates verifying cosmetic facility registration or product listing. Registration and listing numbers do not indicate FDA approval of the facility or products.[8]
Evidence behind this answer
- FDA Clarifies It Does Not Provide Certificates or Other Documents to Verify Compliance for Cosmetic Product Facility Registration
agency or professional guidance · 2026
Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · September 9, 2026 constituent update; facility registration/product listing are not approval; no FDA registration certificates
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does a third-party laboratory result show a supplement works?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
It can answer the measurements actually tested. A health-benefit claim needs appropriate scientific substantiation for the product and claimed outcome; a composition or contaminant result alone does not supply that evidence.[12]
Evidence behind this answer
- Health Products Compliance Guidance
agency or professional guidance · 2022
Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Sections II.A and III.B: express/implied claims, substantiation and human studies
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does an FDA-registered supplement factory mean the supplement works?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. A food-facility registration number records registration, not FDA approval or endorsement of the factory or its products. Dietary-supplement manufacturing falls within food-facility registration rules. This number is not clinical evidence that the supplement works.[13]
Evidence behind this answer
- Questions and Answers Regarding Food Facility Registration, Seventh Edition
agency or professional guidance · 2018
Original official selected Q&A passages inspected; current October 2026 online-registration page checked for continued linkage · C.2.3/C.2.9: dietary supplements and components; L.2: registration is not approval or endorsement; August 2018, still linked by current FDA registration page
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does third-party tested tell me what was tested?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Ask which product or batch, measurements, methods and limits the report covers. An outside test does not establish that every advertised claim or every batch was assessed.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Certification and accreditation
technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Definitions; ISO does not certify; certificate verification
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Contents testing and treatment benefit are different claims
NSF describes its Contents Certified program as checking ingredient identity and label accuracy, screening applicable contaminants and conducting facility audits with periodic retesting. Which contaminants are relevant depends on ingredient and category risk. These activities support composition and quality claims within the scheme. They do not supply an efficacy trial for a health condition. NSF is the program provider, so its description is used here to explain scope, not as an independent comparison of competing schemes.[4]
A cleaning-product label has its own criteria
EPA’s voluntary Safer Choice program reviews every chemical ingredient against its criteria and also examines performance, pH and packaging. Annual audits check continuing compliance. The optional fragrance-free designation adds a specific distinction. This is useful information about a cleaning formulation, but does not mean that swallowing it, using it contrary to instructions or exposing every sensitive person is harmless. The precise label and intended use still matter.[5]
Organic certification can be checked through its actual system
USDA-authorized certifying agents certify operations against organic regulations. The Organic INTEGRITY Database provides a regularly updated certifier locator. This allows a reader to investigate the certifier behind an organic claim instead of inferring authority from a leaf-shaped logo. Organic production compliance is a defined regulatory question. It should not be expanded into a promise of superior clinical outcomes, zero contamination or the suitability of every ingredient for every consumer.[6]
Independence and marketing claims require separate scrutiny
FTC guidance treats environmental seals as possible endorsements. Material connections should be disclosed and the seal’s basis clear. Certification does not replace substantiation of marketing claims. Check the assessed criteria and whether the advertisement implies benefits outside them.[7]
References
- Certification and accreditation
Technical or regulatory guidance
ISO · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Definitions; ISO does not certify; certificate verification - ISO/IEC 17065:2012
Technical or regulatory guidance
ISO · Content/publication date: 2012
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Official public scope and status inspected; paid standard text not inspected
Cited sections: Published title and scope; requirements for product-certifying bodies - ISO/IEC 17025:2017
Technical or regulatory guidance
ISO · Content/publication date: 2017
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Official public scope inspected; paid standard text not inspected
Cited sections: Public scope: competence, impartiality and consistent operation - NSF Contents Certified
Technical or regulatory guidance
NSF · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Identity; label accuracy; risk-based screening; ongoing audits - Learn about the Safer Choice label
Technical or regulatory guidance
EPA · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Ingredients; performance; pH; annual audits; alternate labels - Accredited certifying agents
Technical or regulatory guidance
USDA AMS · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Authorized certifiers; Organic INTEGRITY locator - Environmental claims: summary of the Green Guides
Technical or regulatory guidance
FTC · Content/publication date: 2012
Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Certifications and seals: clear basis, connections and substantiation - FDA Clarifies It Does Not Provide Certificates or Other Documents to Verify Compliance for Cosmetic Product Facility Registration
Agency or professional guidance
FDA · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: September 9, 2026 constituent update; facility registration/product listing are not approval; no FDA registration certificatesTargeted explanation, not an exhaustive evidence search or qualified medical review.
- Are There FDA Registered or FDA Certified Medical Devices? How Do I Know What Is FDA Approved?
Agency or professional guidance
FDA · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Establishment registration, device listing, certificates and verification of approval/clearance/authorizationTargeted explanation, not an exhaustive evidence search or qualified medical review.
- USP Verified Mark: Dietary Supplement Manufacturing
Program provider scope description
USP · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Official indexed page excerpts inspected; direct original page and supporting PDF returned 403; no complete document inspection
Cited sections: Official indexed summary: identity/amounts, specified contaminants, breakdown and manufacturing; original same-program summary PDF corroborated in indexed result turn2596search49Targeted explanation, not an exhaustive evidence search or qualified medical review.
- Certified for Sport Program
Program provider scope description
NSF · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Purpose, testing/review/inspections/monitoring and official directory; lines 26–46Targeted explanation, not an exhaustive evidence search or qualified medical review.
- Health Products Compliance Guidance
Agency or professional guidance
FTC · Content/publication date: 2022
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Selected original official passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
Cited sections: Sections II.A and III.B: express/implied claims, substantiation and human studiesStaff guidance; no independent force of law or safe harbor.
- Questions and Answers Regarding Food Facility Registration, Seventh Edition
Agency or professional guidance
FDA · Content/publication date: 2018
Accessed: 2026-10-15 UTC · Original official selected Q&A passages inspected; current October 2026 online-registration page checked for continued linkage
Cited sections: C.2.3/C.2.9: dietary supplements and components; L.2: registration is not approval or endorsement; August 2018, still linked by current FDA registration pageTargeted explanation, not an exhaustive evidence search or qualified medical review.
Scope & review
- Population
- General readers comparing product claims and analytical reports; not an individual exposure assessment
- Exposure or intervention
- Independent certification
- Comparison
- Source-specific alternative products and matched/control conditions
- Outcomes
- Meaning of testing, interpretation of claims and limits on generalization
- Timeframe
- Report-specific measurements and dated standards; no guarantee for untested batches or future products
- Jurisdiction
- Selected US agency sources, dated professional guidance and original international research; jurisdiction and eligibility are source-specific
Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.
Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.
Revision history
- 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a selectively sourced product-testing explanation; qualified review remains pending.
- 2026-10-15 UTC: Added the plain-English series explanation, practical questions and selected primary sources; independent review remains pending.
What this article still leaves open
- Which schemes independently evaluate the attributes that consumers assume from their seals?
- How consistently do ongoing audits detect batch changes and advertising outside the certified scope?
Suggest a correction
Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.
Your submitted corrections for this article
More in the plain-English series
Keep making sense of it.
Explore Supplements explanations See every explanationExplore the topic map
Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.