Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Prevention & care

Menstrual health, perimenopause, and menopause

10 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-07 UTC
On this page

Menstrual health includes cycle patterns, bleeding, pain, and daily functioning. Menopause marks the end of ovarian follicular function, with symptoms and effects varying substantially between people.[3][1]

The menstrual cycle is more than days of bleeding

A cycle is counted from the first day of one period to the first day of the next. Hormonal changes coordinate ovarian activity and changes in the uterine lining; ovulation means release of an egg. The familiar twenty-eight-day example is not a required schedule for everyone. The Office on Women's Health describes variation between people and across life stages, including the years after periods begin and the menopausal transition. Recording dates, bleeding, and symptoms can help describe a pattern to a clinician; a tracking app does not by itself diagnose its cause.[2]

Common symptoms can still deserve assessment

Period problems include pain, heavy or prolonged bleeding, irregular bleeding, and absent periods. Cramps can arise from uterine contractions, while conditions such as endometriosis or fibroids can also produce pain. Symptoms disrupting normal activity should not simply be dismissed because menstruation is common. Irregular or absent periods have several possible explanations, including pregnancy and hormonal conditions. Bleeding between periods or after sex needs assessment when unusual or persistent. Any vaginal bleeding after completed menopause should be checked; this is a warning requiring evaluation, not a cancer diagnosis.[3]

Hormone therapy has product-specific benefits and risks

HRT can relieve symptoms such as hot flushes and night sweats, and helps protect bone while it is taken. The balance of benefits and harms depends on symptoms, age, health history, and the type and route of therapy. Tablet and skin-delivered estrogen do not have identical blood-clot risk. Estrogen-only and combined treatment also differ in breast-cancer risk. These distinctions explain why a single statement that hormones are safe or dangerous is inadequate. This overview does not calculate a reader's absolute risk or determine eligibility.[4]

Systemic therapy, local therapy, and other options

NHS explains that someone with a uterus generally needs a progestogen with systemic estrogen to protect the uterine lining. Local vaginal estrogen targets dryness and related symptoms; it is not the same exposure as systemic HRT and is not treatment for every menopausal symptom. Depending on the problem, care may also include CBT and other non-hormonal options. Herbal products are not interchangeable with regulated medicines: evidence and safety can be limited, and interactions are possible. Choosing an approach requires a discussion of symptoms and medical circumstances.[5]

Menopausal HRT is not contraception: pregnancy can remain possible during treatment. Hormonal contraception can also alter bleeding, making the timing of menopause less obvious. Decisions about contraception and symptom treatment need separate consideration.[6][7]

Bleeding, ovulation and preparation for implantation are different events

Bleeding, ovulation and preparation for implantation are different events
EventMain distinction
MenstruationBlood and uterine lining leave the body; the first bleeding day starts the cycle count.[8]
OvulationAn egg is released from an ovary.[8]
After ovulationProgesterone helps prepare the uterine lining for possible implantation.[8]

A cycle-day count is not an exact ovulation forecast

The NHS counts a cycle from the first day of a period to the day before the next. Ovulation and bleeding are different events. Timing varies; a calendar example does not establish one person’s fertile days or provide a reliable contraceptive method. The basic diagram also does not describe every altered or medically suppressed cycle.[8]

Removing the uterus and removing the ovaries have different implications

A hysterectomy removes the uterus; ovary removal is a separate part of the surgical discussion. The NHS distinguishes immediate surgical menopause when ovaries are removed from hysterectomy that preserves one or both ovaries, where menopause may occur earlier but is not automatically immediate. A stopped bleeding pattern after surgery therefore needs the operation’s anatomical context.[9]

Premature ovarian insufficiency is not simply a permanent zero-function label

The joint POI guideline describes loss of ovarian activity before age 40, with irregular or absent cycles and hormonal findings. It states that ovarian activity can still occur in non-surgical POI, so natural conception is possible despite substantially reduced chances. The guideline’s evidence search ended in January 2024. This explanation does not diagnose POI or infer an individual’s fertility from a calendar or one marker.[10]

Evidence & uncertainty

The natural-menopause definition requires 12 months without menstruation and no other explanation. This does not make every missed period menopause or identify the best treatment.[1]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Do all people experience the same menopausal symptoms?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. WHO describes wide variation, from few symptoms to substantial effects on daily life.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Menopause

    agency explanation · 2024
    Selected page text; cited sections · Overview; Changes and management

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is pregnancy still possible during perimenopause?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. The transition is not the same as completed menopause.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Menopause

    agency explanation · 2024
    Selected page text; cited sections · Overview; Changes and management

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Must a menstrual cycle always be twenty-eight days?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Cycle timing varies between people and life stages. A cycle runs from the first day of one period to the first day of the next.[2]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Your menstrual cycle

    agency explanation · Date not stated
    Selected official page text; cited sections inspected · Cycle timing; Ovulation; Variation; Tracking

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Should bleeding after completed menopause be checked?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. The Office on Women's Health advises assessment for bleeding after menopause. Several causes are possible; the symptom does not establish a diagnosis.[3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Period problems

    agency explanation · 2025-09-26
    Selected official page text; cited sections inspected · Pain; Irregular and heavy bleeding; Postmenopausal bleeding

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Do all forms of menopausal hormone therapy have identical risks?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Route, hormones included, symptoms, age, and medical history affect the benefit-risk assessment. A general HRT label does not specify one risk profile.[4]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is vaginal estrogen the same as systemic HRT?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. NHS distinguishes local treatment for vaginal symptoms from systemic treatment. They address different symptom patterns and have different exposure and safety considerations.[5]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Menopause: Treatment

    agency explanation · 2026-05-19
    Selected official page text; cited sections inspected · HRT; Progestogen; Vaginal estrogen; CBT; Complementary treatments

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does menopausal HRT prevent pregnancy?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Pregnancy may still be possible during HRT, so contraception is a separate question. Hormonal contraception can also make bleeding less useful for recognizing menopause.[6][7]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Do all forms of menopausal hormone therapy have the same risks?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Estrogen-only and combined therapy, tablets and skin routes, and local vaginal estrogen do not have identical risks. Symptoms, age, duration of use and health history affect the assessment. These basic NHS distinctions explain why a single HRT label is insufficient; they do not determine individual eligibility or supply current absolute risk estimates.[4]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is ovulation the same event as menstruation?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Ovulation releases an egg from an ovary; menstruation sheds blood and uterine lining.[8]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does cycle day one mean the day of ovulation?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. The NHS starts the cycle count on the first day of the period. Ovulation timing is a separate question.[8]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does every hysterectomy cause immediate surgical menopause?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Whether ovaries are removed matters. The NHS distinguishes removal from preserving one or both ovaries, which may bring menopause earlier without making it automatically immediate.[9]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Hysterectomy: Considerations

    agency explanation · 2022
    Selected relevant original page passages inspected · Uterus versus ovaries; surgical menopause and preserved ovaries

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does non-surgical premature ovarian insufficiency mean ovarian activity can never occur?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. The joint guideline describes possible intermittent ovarian activity and natural conception, despite substantially reduced chances. The label is not an individual fertility prediction.[10]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

What the sources explain

WHO describes both hormonal and non-hormonal symptom-management options, considered with medical history and preferences. Pregnancy can still occur during perimenopause. Surgical and other medical interventions can also cause menopause.[1]

Questions still to cover

Remaining dedicated reviews: PCOS and premenstrual-disorder treatment comparisons; premature ovarian insufficiency; current individualized absolute HRT benefit and harm estimates.

References

  1. Menopause

    Agency explanation

    WHO · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected page text; cited sections
    Cited sections: Overview; Changes and management

  2. Your menstrual cycle

    Agency explanation

    US Office on Women's Health · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page text; cited sections inspected
    Cited sections: Cycle timing; Ovulation; Variation; Tracking

  3. Period problems

    Agency explanation

    US Office on Women's Health · Content/publication date: 2025-09-26
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page text; cited sections inspected
    Cited sections: Pain; Irregular and heavy bleeding; Postmenopausal bleeding

  4. Benefits and risks of hormone replacement therapy (HRT)

    Agency explanation

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2023-02-08
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page text; cited sections inspected
    Cited sections: Symptoms; Breast cancer; Blood clots; Route of administration

    Displayed review date is 2023; its stated next-review date has passed. Used for basic risk distinctions, not current absolute estimates or individual eligibility.

  5. Menopause: Treatment

    Agency explanation

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2026-05-19
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page text; cited sections inspected
    Cited sections: HRT; Progestogen; Vaginal estrogen; CBT; Complementary treatments

  6. About hormone replacement therapy (HRT)

    Agency explanation

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2023-02-07
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page sections inspected
    Cited sections: Who can take HRT: pregnancy and contraception

  7. When to take hormone replacement therapy (HRT)

    Agency explanation

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2023-01-04
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page sections inspected
    Cited sections: If you take the contraceptive pill: bleeding and recognition of menopause

    Used for contraception/bleeding context, not personalized contraceptive stop dates or prescribing.

  8. Periods and fertility in the menstrual cycle

    Agency explanation

    NHS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant original page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Cycle count, ovulation, uterine lining and timing variation

    Selected basic explanation; fixed-day predictions, contraception rules and numerical ranges are not reproduced. The wording implying ovulation in every cycle is not adopted.

  9. Hysterectomy: Considerations

    Agency explanation

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2022
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant original page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Uterus versus ovaries; surgical menopause and preserved ovaries

    Selected anatomical distinctions. Its review-due date has passed; it is not presented as a current surgical eligibility or hormone-therapy guideline.

  10. Evidence-based guideline: Premature Ovarian Insufficiency

    Original multisociety guideline

    ESHRE/ASRM/CRE-WHiRL/IMS guideline group · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected original guideline HTML passages inspected
    Cited sections: Definition, evidence-search cutoff and non-surgical ovarian activity

    ASRM page title labels 2025; abstract includes 2024 copyright and a January 30, 2024 literature cutoff. Only selected definition/fertility passages are used; full recommendations and methods are not independently appraised.

Scope & review

Population
People learning about menstrual cycles, ovarian function, menopausal transition and surgical menopause
Exposure or intervention
Bleeding/ovulation, cycle count, menopause, uterus/ovary removal and premature ovarian insufficiency
Comparison
Anatomical and hormonal-event distinctions; no individual treatment ranking
Outcomes
Symptoms, cycle and reproductive context; no calendar contraception or fertility verdict
Timeframe
Selected dated source snapshot; cited POI guideline search ended January 2024
Jurisdiction
WHO/US OWH/UK NHS explanations and a multi-society POI guideline

Selected-source educational explanation using inspected official source sections and, where stated, an original guideline or published review abstract. This is not a systematic evidence synthesis, independent formal certainty assessment, or qualified expert review. Edition 3.11 adds selected condition, hygiene and exercise definitions and examples, with scoped introductory links; older reference access dates remain explicit.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Domain-entry primer added; cited sections checked and remaining questions listed.
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Added actual menstrual-cycle and period-problem content, HRT and local-treatment distinctions, and four reader questions; broadened the title honestly.
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Added related reading and made remaining editorial scope explicit in edition 3.1; source-access dates retained.
  • 2026-10-07 UTC: Edition 3.11: added selected condition, hygiene and exercise definitions, comparisons, examples and sourced questions. Earlier anchors and access dates retained; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • PCOS and premenstrual-disorder treatment comparisons
  • premature ovarian insufficiency
  • current individualized absolute HRT benefit and harm estimates
  • Full cycle-phase endocrine explanations, altered cycles, current POI treatment/follow-up and individualized surgical/hormone decisions.
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.