Products & safety
Sous vide and vacuum-sealed foods: cooking, cooling and package limits
On this page
Sous vide cooks food in a sealed pouch using controlled heating, commonly a water bath. Vacuum sealing removes air from packaging; it does not itself cook the food. These processes change handling requirements as well as texture and convenience.[1]
Similar-looking packages can represent different processes
| Term | Meaning |
|---|---|
| Vacuum packaging | Air is removed before sealing; refrigeration or freezing may still be necessary.[4] |
| Modified-atmosphere packaging | The package atmosphere is altered; this also needs product-specific controls.[3] |
| Cook-serve / cook-chill | Serve after cooking, or rapidly chill and refrigerate for later use.[2] |
Evidence & uncertainty
If food is chilled for later use, controlled cooking, rapid cooling and appropriate storage all matter; one temperature is insufficient.[1]
Selected-source overview · Independent review pendingPublished questions
Does vacuum sealing make food shelf stable?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. USU Extension states that vacuum packaging is not a preservation method by itself. Food needing refrigeration or freezing before sealing still needs it afterward. A vacuum pouch does not establish the shelf stability of a commercially processed canned product.[4]
Evidence behind this answer
- Food Storage Packaging
university extension guidance · Date not stated
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Vacuum Packaging paragraph only; other material claims not used
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can smell or a tight seal prove a pouch is safe?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Packaging can limit visible spoilage without controlling every relevant pathogen. FSA’s guidance assesses specific hazards and processing barriers; a tight seal and acceptable smell are not substitutes for that assessment.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- The safety and shelf-life of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed chilled foods with respect to non-proteolytic Clostridium botulinum
agency technical guidance · 2020
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · December 2020 guidance, scope/background; paragraphs30–33; re-wrapping; additional Q&A on fresh meat exclusions
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Is a low-temperature recipe safe just because it cooks for hours?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Duration alone is insufficient. NSW warns that low-temperature or insufficient cooking can leave bacteria or parasites alive, and slow passage through growth-supporting temperatures adds risk. Use a method validated for the actual food and conditions.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Cooking sous vide
agency consumer guidance · Date not stated
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Definition; potential risks; consumer safety tips
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does the hold time start when I put the pouch in?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Not if the specified hold is at the target core temperature. The center must reach that temperature first. Portion thickness and heating performance affect the come-up interval.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Guidelines for restaurant sous vide cooking in British Columbia
agency technical guidance · 2017
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Printed pp6 and17 cook-serve/cook-chill pathways; pp12–15 come-up versus holding; pp22–24 packaging/probes; p28 finishing; pp29–32 cooling/storage
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Is the circulator display enough?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
FSANZ recommends an accurate probe check of both food and water, together with proper circulation and a gauge that measures correctly. A display describes what its sensor reports; it does not directly measure every food center.[6]
Evidence behind this answer
- Safe Food Australia, Fourth Edition: Appendix 4—Foods requiring special care
agency technical guidance · 2023
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Printed pp209–210: sous vide; p211: vacuum/modified-atmosphere chilled food
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does a quick sear repair an uncertain bath step?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Do not assume so. BCCDC says a finishing step relied upon for pathogen reduction needs reproducible, established time and temperature conditions. Browning by itself does not document core treatment.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Guidelines for restaurant sous vide cooking in British Columbia
agency technical guidance · 2017
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Printed pp6 and17 cook-serve/cook-chill pathways; pp12–15 come-up versus holding; pp22–24 packaging/probes; p28 finishing; pp29–32 cooling/storage
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can I use any freezer or sandwich bag?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Check current instructions for the specific product and cooking use. BCCDC cautions that ordinary bags may not be designed or tested for sous vide. A storage designation alone does not answer the heating question.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Guidelines for restaurant sous vide cooking in British Columbia
agency technical guidance · 2017
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Printed pp6 and17 cook-serve/cook-chill pathways; pp12–15 come-up versus holding; pp22–24 packaging/probes; p28 finishing; pp29–32 cooling/storage
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can I copy a commercial storage limit for a home pouch?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
FSA’s guidance concerns manufacturers and retailers using defined controls. Its shelf-life conditions are not general permission to store home pouches.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- The safety and shelf-life of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed chilled foods with respect to non-proteolytic Clostridium botulinum
agency technical guidance · 2020
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · December 2020 guidance, scope/background; paragraphs30–33; re-wrapping; additional Q&A on fresh meat exclusions
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does opening and re-vacuuming reset a use-by date?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. FSA states that a rewrapped product’s shelf life must not exceed the original without justified additional controls. New packaging does not erase the earlier storage history.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- The safety and shelf-life of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed chilled foods with respect to non-proteolytic Clostridium botulinum
agency technical guidance · 2020
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · December 2020 guidance, scope/background; paragraphs30–33; re-wrapping; additional Q&A on fresh meat exclusions
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Why does frozen vacuum-packed fish have special thawing directions?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
A sealed pack can allow botulinum toxin formation during thawing; follow package directions.[5]
Evidence behind this answer
- FDA Food Code 2022
model food code · 2023
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Section 3-501.13(E) and Annex 3 ROP Fish rationale only for the brief fish-thawing FAQ
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Is very lightly cooked sous vide suitable for every guest?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No universal assurance follows from the method’s name. NSW identifies undercooking as a hazard, including surviving bacteria and parasites. For someone at greater risk from foodborne illness, choose a fully supported preparation rather than an experimental low-temperature version.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Cooking sous vide
agency consumer guidance · Date not stated
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Definition; potential risks; consumer safety tips
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
What if the bath stops or the temperature history is lost?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
A process relying on sustained temperature cannot be verified from the final display alone. NSW emphasizes temperature control and warns about extended holding that permits growth. Do not improvise a rescue time from an unrelated recipe.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Cooking sous vide
agency consumer guidance · Date not stated
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · Definition; potential risks; consumer safety tips
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Why can a supermarket vacuum pack have a different shelf life?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Commercial shelf life depends on the food, processing barriers and controlled storage. FSA’s guidance distinguishes product categories and validated controls. The printed life of an unopened commercial product does not validate a home-repacked version.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- The safety and shelf-life of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed chilled foods with respect to non-proteolytic Clostridium botulinum
agency technical guidance · 2020
Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets. · December 2020 guidance, scope/background; paragraphs30–33; re-wrapping; additional Q&A on fresh meat exclusions
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Less spoilage does not establish pathogen control
Reduced oxygen can slow some spoilage organisms while allowing particular hazards to grow. FSA identifies non-proteolytic Clostridium botulinum as a concern in chilled vacuum packs and Listeria as another hazard needing control. A longer attractive appearance is therefore a different question from a validated safe shelf life. A squeeze of lemon or sprinkle of salt does not measure acidity or water activity.[3]
Bath time and time at the food’s core are different
A required holding period at the target core temperature follows the center’s come-up time. Thickness and equipment affect warming. BCCDC recommends recording these intervals separately. Bath entry alone does not start the required core hold. Pasteurization reduces targeted microorganisms; it does not mean sterilization.[2]
Treat the setup as a process
FSANZ emphasizes adequate circulation, sustained temperature, an accurate gauge, thinner portions, probe checks and avoiding contamination during sealing. Its guidance cautions against mechanically minced, tenderised, rolled or reformed meats in this process. Changing a tested thin steak method to a thick rolled joint changes relevant conditions.[6]
Decide what happens after cooking
FSANZ calls for immediate eating or rapid chilling after cooking. Its guidance identifies botulinum hazards in vacuum-packed cook-chilled food and Listeria in refrigerated ready-to-eat packs. Keeping a closed pouch warm while it slowly cools does not fulfill a rapid-chilling plan.[6]
A storage bag is not automatically a cooking bag
Choose packaging intended for the actual cooking temperature and duration, following its current manufacturer instructions. BCCDC distinguishes purpose-made sous-vide pouches from bags intended for storage or other uses. A food-contact claim alone does not specify every heating application.[2]
Before using a method
Identify the food and portion thickness; check that the equipment reaches and maintains the specified conditions; prevent contamination during preparation and sealing; verify temperatures; and decide between immediate service and a supported rapid-chilling plan. If the process or temperature history is uncertain, do not treat a sealed pouch as evidence that it succeeded.[6]
References
- Cooking sous vide
Agency consumer guidance
NSW Food Authority · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets.
Cited sections: Definition; potential risks; consumer safety tips - Guidelines for restaurant sous vide cooking in British Columbia
Agency technical guidance
BC Centre for Disease Control · Content/publication date: 2017
Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets.
Cited sections: Printed pp6 and17 cook-serve/cook-chill pathways; pp12–15 come-up versus holding; pp22–24 packaging/probes; p28 finishing; pp29–32 cooling/storage - The safety and shelf-life of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed chilled foods with respect to non-proteolytic Clostridium botulinum
Agency technical guidance
Food Standards Agency / Food Standards Scotland · Content/publication date: 2020
Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets.
Cited sections: December 2020 guidance, scope/background; paragraphs30–33; re-wrapping; additional Q&A on fresh meat exclusions - Food Storage Packaging
University extension guidance
Utah State University Extension · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets.
Cited sections: Vacuum Packaging paragraph only; other material claims not used - FDA Food Code 2022
Model food code
US FDA · Content/publication date: 2023
Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets.
Cited sections: Section 3-501.13(E) and Annex 3 ROP Fish rationale only for the brief fish-thawing FAQ - Safe Food Australia, Fourth Edition: Appendix 4—Foods requiring special care
Agency technical guidance
Food Standards Australia New Zealand · Content/publication date: 2023
Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Original official source; relevant complete sections read, not search snippets.
Cited sections: Printed pp209–210: sous vide; p211: vacuum/modified-atmosphere chilled food
Scope & review
- Population
- General household readers; not a process-validation service for food businesses
- Exposure or intervention
- Sous vide cooking and vacuum/reduced-oxygen chilled food handling
- Comparison
- Cook-serve versus cook-chill; home repacking versus controlled commercial processes
- Outcomes
- Understanding processing conditions, package limits and practical decisions
- Timeframe
- Heating, cooling, thawing and subsequent storage; no universal safe shelf-life claim
- Jurisdiction
- Selected US, Canadian, Australian and UK guidance; business rules are identified as context, not universal household law
Bounded source-based educational explanation. Selected original official guidance and relevant research sections were read. No exhaustive search, formal evidence grade, independent synthesis or qualified medical/food-safety review has been completed.
Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.
Revision history
- 2026-10-20 UTC: Prepared definition-first draft with claim-linked sources for the authorized second batch.
- 2026-10-20 UTC: Narrowed FDA attribution to the fish-thawing FAQ after root publication gate matched all Food Code editions; independently reread NSW, BCCDC and FSA guidance supports the revised process and scope explanations.
What this article still leaves open
- Which consumer methods have independently validated heat-up and chilling performance across typical household equipment?
- How should current packaging instructions be translated into method-specific consumer choices?
Suggest a correction
Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.
Your submitted corrections for this article
Explore the topic map
Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.