Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Products & safety

Safe cooking temperatures: internal measurements, food categories and time

7 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-13 UTC
On this page

A safe cooking temperature is a specified temperature reached inside food, sometimes combined with a holding or resting time. USDA’s household chart distinguishes whole cuts, ground meats and poultry. An oven’s selected temperature is not the same measurement as the food’s interior.[1]

Selected household targets: keep the food and jurisdiction attached

Selected household targets: keep the food and jurisdiction attached
SituationWhat the guidance meansBoundary
US whole beef, pork, lamb or veal cuts145°F (62.8°C) and rest 3 minutesGround products have different targets[1]
US ground meat; ground poultry160°F (71.1°C);165°F (73.9°C) respectivelyDo not use the whole-cut target for a burger[1]
Canada whole poultry82°C (180°F)Poultry pieces are 74°C (165°F)[4]
FSA heating70°C for 2 minutesInternal food temperature[5]

Measure the food rather than the oven

A cooking chart’s internal target describes food at the measurement location. FoodSafety.gov’s roasting chart separately gives an oven setting, approximate cooking times and the final internal target for a specific ham. These numbers have different functions. Time estimates help plan cooking, while the thermometer checks the food itself. Weight, product form and whether a ham is uncooked or already cooked determine which instructions apply. Do not substitute the oven setting for the target or transfer one listed ham procedure to every roast.[6]

Evidence & uncertainty

A thermometer connects cooking advice to what happened inside the food. USDA distinguishes safety from the appearance and eating quality described as doneness. Thick pieces and whole birds require attention to measurement location; a single hot surface does not show that the colder interior reached the recommended condition.[2]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Does an oven setting measure the safe internal cooking temperature?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FoodSafety.gov distinguishes oven settings and approximate cooking time from a food’s final internal target. Use an appropriate thermometer; hot air does not establish the temperature inside the food.[6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Meat and Poultry Roasting Charts

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator · Original indexed smoked/fresh ham: oven setting, approximate times and internal targets

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Why can a browned hamburger still need a food thermometer?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

USDA warns that ground beef may brown before reaching its recommended temperature or remain pink afterward. Colour cannot reliably replace a thermometer reading.[3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Color of Cooked Ground Beef as It Relates to Doneness

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator · Original indexed colour variability; thermometer recommendation; no full-page appraisal

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does the US whole-cut instruction include a resting time?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. USDA’s specified beef, pork, lamb and veal cuts have a 145°F (62.8°C) minimum followed by at least three minutes of rest. Retain both parts.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Safe Minimum Internal Temperature Chart

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator · Indexed food-specific minimums and resting requirement; direct retrieval failed

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Where does USDA recommend checking a whole bird?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Check the inner thigh, inner wing and thickest breast. Follow thermometer instructions for accurate placement and reading; one surface measurement cannot stand for every interior site.[2]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Food Thermometers

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator · Indexed whole-poultry sites; thermometer designs and calibration

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is Canada’s whole-poultry target identical to its poultry-piece target?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Health Canada lists 82°C (180°F) for whole poultry and 74°C (165°F) for pieces. Food form and jurisdiction must remain attached to any temperature comparison.[4]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Safe cooking temperatures

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Food-specific chart; whole poultry82°C; thermometer placement

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does 70°C for two minutes mean two minutes in a 70°C oven?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FSA means the food’s middle, not oven heat.[5]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Cooking your food

    technical or regulatory guidance · 2017
    Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Section3: middle-of-food time/temperature combinations; household meat advice

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Whole cuts, ground meat and poultry are distinct categories

USDA lists 145°F with a three-minute rest for specified whole cuts,160°F for ground meats and 165°F for ground poultry. Retain the stated rest; the number alone omits part of the instruction. Identify the product before selecting a target. A mixture, stuffing or ground product is not interchangeable with an intact cut because it has a similar animal origin. This table is selected household guidance, not an industrial schedule validating every preparation process.[1]

Thermometers require suitable placement and time to read

USDA advises checking whole poultry in the inner thigh, inner wing and thickest breast. Follow the instrument’s instructions for insertion depth, response time and calibration; different sensor designs measure different areas. A reading near bone or away from the relevant interior may misrepresent the food. Clean the probe between uses to avoid moving raw-food contamination onto cooked food. Owning a thermometer helps only when it is used to measure the appropriate places and interpreted against the applicable food-specific instruction.[2]

Brown or pink is not a reliable hamburger safety test

USDA’s ground-beef explanation warns against relying on cooked colour. Some meat can brown before the recommended final temperature, while other meat can remain pink after reaching it. Colour changes involve meat chemistry as well as heat. This explains why an appealing browned surface, clear-looking juices or the cook’s preferred appearance cannot replace the internal measurement. The recommendation is specific to determining safety; it does not require every properly measured hamburger to look exactly the same.[3]

National charts can differ for the same broad food

Health Canada’s chart lists 82°C for whole poultry,74°C for pieces,71°C for pork cuts and 70°C for fish. Those are not identical to all US recommendations. The Canadian page also directs checking each piece, avoiding bone and inserting a probe through the side of a burger. A comparison should preserve the original food category and jurisdiction rather than producing an unexplained average. Consult the relevant local household chart and the product instructions, especially when the food’s form or treatment changes.[4]

A temperature-time pair is a process, not a momentary number

The UK business cooking page gives 70°C for two minutes and alternative combinations, with a clean probe in the food’s centre. Time belongs to the internal condition, not how long the oven has been on. This business guidance cannot be turned into a validated household sous-vide schedule or permission to improvise a lower temperature without its corresponding time. Keep the food, audience and process attached to the number.[7]

References

  1. Safe Minimum Internal Temperature Chart

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    USDA FSIS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator
    Cited sections: Indexed food-specific minimums and resting requirement; direct retrieval failed

  2. Food Thermometers

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    USDA FSIS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator
    Cited sections: Indexed whole-poultry sites; thermometer designs and calibration

  3. Color of Cooked Ground Beef as It Relates to Doneness

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    USDA FSIS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator
    Cited sections: Original indexed colour variability; thermometer recommendation; no full-page appraisal

  4. Safe cooking temperatures

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    Health Canada · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Food-specific chart; whole poultry82°C; thermometer placement

  5. Cooking your food

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    Food Standards Agency · Content/publication date: 2017
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Section3: middle-of-food time/temperature combinations; household meat advice

  6. Meat and Poultry Roasting Charts

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FoodSafety.gov · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator
    Cited sections: Original indexed smoked/fresh ham: oven setting, approximate times and internal targets

  7. Food hygiene for businesses: Cooking food safely

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    UK Government · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Business time/temperature combinations and clean probe in centre

Scope & review

Population
Household consumers; risk groups and particular foods are identified where relevant
Exposure or intervention
Practical microbial safety in household handling; nutrition and food-contact material health are separate
Comparison
Food interior versus oven or surface; whole versus ground products; temperature alone versus temperature-time controls; US versus Canadian household targets
Outcomes
Avoiding contamination, limiting microbial growth and achieving source-specific cooking controls
Timeframe
Food-specific handling episodes, storage conditions and dated official guidance; no universal storage clock
Jurisdiction
Selected US, Canadian, UK and other identified public guidance; household advice is distinguished from business requirements

Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a sourced explanation in a bounded ten-article batch; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • Which validated instructions apply to a specific nonstandard cooking process?
  • How accurately is a consumer’s thermometer measuring the coldest relevant interior?
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.