Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Sleep & recovery

Sleep

14 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-20 UTC
On this page

Sleep is a recurring biological state that alternates with wakefulness. It is coordinated by internal body clocks and a need for sleep that builds while we are awake. Healthy sleep includes duration, quality, and timing—not only the number of hours spent in bed.[3][4]

The parts of sleep health

Duration means time actually asleep; time in bed can include wakefulness. Quality concerns refreshing sleep, repeated awakenings, and daytime sleepiness.[1]

The body clock and sleep pressure

Two processes help coordinate sleep. Circadian rhythms are roughly 24-hour patterns influenced by environmental cues, especially light and darkness. Sleep pressure increases with time awake and is linked to adenosine. They interact: feeling tired and being at a biological time that favors sleep are related but distinct.[4]

People’s timing varies, and it changes with age. For example, many teenagers naturally have later sleep timing than adults. Caffeine can block adenosine’s action, while light can affect circadian timing. This explains basic mechanisms; it does not establish one light-exposure or caffeine-cutoff protocol as optimal for everyone.[4]

Non-REM, deep sleep, and REM

Sleep alternates between non-REM and rapid eye movement (REM) phases. Non-REM includes three stages: transition into sleep, a second stage of sleep, and stage 3, often called deep or slow-wave sleep. REM involves active brain patterns and rapid eye movements; dreams commonly occur during this phase.[5]

NHLBI describes cycles of roughly 80–100 minutes, usually four to six across a night. Deep sleep is more prominent earlier, and REM later. Patterns change with age. These descriptions are not instructions to chase a fixed percentage of each stage, and they do not validate a consumer device’s stage estimates.[5]

Everyday habits and sleep disorders

CDC discusses consistent sleep times, a quiet and comfortable room, and limiting late caffeine and alcohol. It also describes insomnia, sleep apnea, and other disorders that can prevent good sleep despite someone trying to sleep well. A habit checklist cannot establish which cause explains persistent difficulty.[1]

Sleep matters to attention, thinking, metabolism, and several body systems. The NHLBI overview also distinguishes getting enough sleep from getting sufficient-quality sleep. Understanding those separate questions is more useful than treating one nightly score as a complete measure of health.[3]

Sleep habits and insomnia treatment answer different questions

AASM’s 2021 guideline recommends multicomponent cognitive behavioral therapy for chronic insomnia, or CBT-I, and advises against sleep hygiene as the sole therapy. Sleep habits and insomnia treatment are different.[8]

Treatment choice also involves priorities. The 2026 combination guideline discusses the value placed on increasing sleep time early versus reducing daytime symptoms. A generic sleep routine cannot infer those preferences or settle a clinical treatment choice.[13]

A sleep study and a consumer score measure different things

An overnight laboratory study can record brain waves, breathing, oxygen, heart rate and movements. Other sleep tests answer different questions, including daytime sleepiness. A number labelled “sleep quality” is not automatically a measurement of all these features or a diagnosis.[9]

AASM’s 2018 consumer-technology position statement emphasized validation against laboratory sleep measurements. This historical statement should not be read as a permanent verdict on every later device. Evaluation needs the particular hardware, algorithm, measured outcome and intended use.[10]

Some specific watch features have medical clearance

In September 2024, FDA cleared Apple’s Sleep Apnea Notification Feature for adults aged 18 or older without a previous sleep-apnea diagnosis. It identifies breathing-disturbance patterns suggestive of moderate to severe apnea and notifies the user. That clearance concerns this function and population; it does not validate every watch’s sleep-stage display.[11]

NHLBI describes sleep-apnea assessment as involving symptoms, risk factors and appropriate sleep studies. An apparently reassuring consumer score cannot replace that assessment when a sleep disorder is suspected.[12]

The 2026 combination-treatment guideline compares two different alternatives

With low-certainty evidence, AASM’s 2026 guideline conditionally favors starting CBT-I plus medication over medication alone, but does not favor that combination over CBT-I alone. The comparator explains the difference. The guideline also allows patient priorities to affect the choice; these conditional recommendations are not a treatment algorithm for this website’s readers.[13]

Minutes asleep and the percentage of time in bed answer different questions

Sleep latency is the time taken to fall asleep. Wake after sleep onset, often shortened to WASO, is time awake after first falling asleep. Sleep efficiency compares time asleep with time in bed: seven hours asleep during eight hours in bed is 87.5%. These quantities describe different parts of a night. A high efficiency percentage does not by itself establish enough sleep: five hours asleep in five hours in bed is 100%, but the percentage says nothing about whether five hours meets that person’s sleep needs. Keep duration and daytime functioning alongside the ratio.[14]

Evidence & uncertainty

Adult sleep-duration guidance is a consensus recommendation informed by evidence. It is not a universal optimum for every person or a diagnosis of a sleep disorder.[2]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Is seven hours the right sleep target for everyone?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC provides age-specific recommendations, and duration alone does not describe sleep quality.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • About Sleep

    agency explanation · 2024-05-15
    page text · Getting enough sleep; Better sleep habits; Sleep quality; Sleep disorders

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does enough time in bed guarantee good sleep?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC describes healthy sleep as both sufficient and refreshing, with repeated awakenings or daytime sleepiness indicating possible poor quality.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • About Sleep

    agency explanation · 2024-05-15
    page text · Getting enough sleep; Better sleep habits; Sleep quality; Sleep disorders

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

What are REM and non-REM sleep stages?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

They are phases that repeat across the night. Non-REM has three stages, including deep sleep; REM involves rapid eye movements and active brain patterns. Stage proportions and timing vary.[5]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

What is the difference between the sleep body clock and sleep pressure?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

The circadian clock coordinates roughly 24-hour timing. Sleep pressure builds as time awake increases. The processes interact, but they describe different parts of sleep regulation.[4]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Can daytime naps affect falling asleep at night?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Naps can improve alertness, but NHLBI suggests limiting them or taking them earlier when nighttime sleep is difficult. Its general adult guidance discusses short naps; preschool children and shift workers have different contexts.[6]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Why can shift work make sleep difficult?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Work times can conflict with the body clock. NHLBI discusses protecting daytime sleep from light and noise, time available for sleep, and limiting caffeine to the earlier part of a shift. Persistent difficulty can need assessment beyond routine tips.[6]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Why can time in bed differ from restorative sleep?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Time in bed can include wakefulness. Actual sleep duration and whether sleep feels refreshing are separate. Repeated awakenings or daytime sleepiness suggest poor quality; conditions such as insomnia or sleep apnea can require assessment. These clues do not diagnose the cause.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • About Sleep

    agency explanation · 2024-05-15
    page text · Getting enough sleep; Better sleep habits; Sleep quality; Sleep disorders

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Do teenagers and older adults need the same amount of sleep?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. NHLBI gives ages 13–18 a general range of 8–10 hours and adults 7–9 hours. These are age-based guides, not one exact optimum; recovery from sleep loss or illness can change needs. Older adults do not acquire teenage requirements simply through aging, and sleep quality still matters alongside duration.[7][3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough?

    agency explanation · 2022-03-24
    Selected official page text or primary publication passages inspected · Adult range; Recommended hours of sleep, ages 13–18; duration variation

  • How Sleep Works

    agency explanation · 2022-03-24
    Official page text · Overview

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is CBT-I the same as ordinary sleep hygiene?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CBT-I is a structured treatment for persistent insomnia, with cognitive and behavioral components. Supportive sleep habits are only part of it.[8]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does a watch sleep score diagnose a sleep disorder?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

A general score does not establish a diagnosis. AASM’s historical statement stresses validation; particular later medical features need their own evidence and intended-use assessment.[10]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Can a watch have an FDA-cleared sleep-apnea notification feature?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. FDA cleared a specific Apple notification feature in 2024 for adults without a previous diagnosis. This does not validate all watches or all sleep metrics.[11]

Evidence behind this answer
  • FDA Roundup: September 17, 2024

    original regulatory announcement · 2024
    Selected relevant official page passages inspected · Apple Sleep Apnea Notification Feature: function and intended population

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does every sleep test measure the same thing?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. An overnight study and a daytime sleep-latency test answer different questions. The appropriate test depends on what the clinical assessment is investigating.[9]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Sleep Studies

    agency test explanation · Date not stated
    Selected relevant official page passages inspected · Overnight recordings, multiple sleep latency tests and test setting

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does the 2026 insomnia guideline favor adding medication to CBT-I for everyone?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. With low-certainty evidence, it distinguishes combination versus medication alone from combination versus CBT-I alone. The conditional recommendations leave room for clinical assessment and patient priorities.[13]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does 100% sleep efficiency mean I got enough sleep?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. It means the recorded time asleep equaled the recorded time in bed. It does not establish adequate duration; five out of five hours is also 100%.[14]

Evidence behind this answer
  • What Is Sleep Quality?

    official or original practical guidance · 2024
    Fresh complete substantive original foundation article read, dated April 12, 2024. Used for its explicit definitions and the distinction from duration, not its age checklists, product standards, device equivalence or behavior prescriptions. The 2017 publisher full-text route redirected to an abstract shell: metadata abstract was available but full paper was not read. That failed route is recorded, not counted as a full-text review. Foundation article and linked consensus paper conservatively share a budget. · Defining Sleep Quality: latency, awakenings, wake after sleep onset and efficiency; duration and quality context

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

How sleep-duration guidance should be read

CDC lists age-specific ranges. Examples are 8–10 hours for ages 13–17; at least seven hours for adults 18–60; 7–9 for ages 61–64; and 7–8 for adults 65 and older. These describe regular daily sleep, and younger children have different ranges that may include naps.[1]

The AASM and Sleep Research Society’s adult recommendation was developed through expert consensus using published evidence. “At least seven hours” is a general adult reference, not proof that seven is everyone’s exact optimum. A recommendation, an observed association with health, and an individual sleep-disorder assessment answer different questions.[2]

References

  1. About Sleep

    Agency explanation

    CDC · Content/publication date: 2024-05-15
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · page text
    Cited sections: Getting enough sleep; Better sleep habits; Sleep quality; Sleep disorders

  2. Recommended Amount of Sleep for a Healthy Adult: A Joint Consensus Statement

    Consensus statement

    Watson NF and colleagues; AASM/SRS · Content/publication date: 2015
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · bibliographic record and abstract
    Cited sections: Abstract; Publication types

    Adult recommendation process; no new trial.

  3. How Sleep Works

    Agency explanation

    US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute · Content/publication date: 2022-03-24
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Official page text
    Cited sections: Overview

    Background physiology; not a trial of a sleep protocol.

  4. How Sleep Works: Your Sleep/Wake Cycle

    Agency explanation

    US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute · Content/publication date: 2022-03-24
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Official page text
    Cited sections: Body clocks; Biological need for sleep; Light–dark cycle

    Used for basic sleep timing and pressure mechanisms.

  5. How Sleep Works: Sleep Phases and Stages

    Agency explanation

    US National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute · Content/publication date: 2022-03-24
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Official page text
    Cited sections: Non-REM; REM; Age-related patterns

    Sleep-stage description, not validation of wearables or an individual stage target.

  6. Sleep Deprivation and Deficiency: Healthy Sleep Habits

    Agency explanation

    NHLBI · Content/publication date: 2022-03-24
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page sections
    Cited sections: Napping; Strategies for shift workers

  7. How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough?

    Agency explanation

    NHLBI · Content/publication date: 2022-03-24
    Accessed: 2026-10-06 UTC · Selected official page text or primary publication passages inspected
    Cited sections: Adult range; Recommended hours of sleep, ages 13–18; duration variation

  8. Behavioral and psychological treatments for chronic insomnia disorder in adults: an American Academy of Sleep Medicine clinical practice guideline

    Professional clinical guideline

    Edinger JD and colleagues / AASM · Content/publication date: 2021
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original guideline abstract inspected
    Cited sections: Abstract: multicomponent CBT-I and recommendation against sleep hygiene as sole therapy

    Selected behavioral-treatment recommendations. The 2026 combination-treatment guideline is discussed separately; no complete current prescribing comparison claimed.

  9. Sleep Studies

    Agency test explanation

    NHLBI · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Overnight recordings, multiple sleep latency tests and test setting

  10. Consumer Sleep Technology: An AASM Position Statement

    Historical professional position

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine · Content/publication date: 2018
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Position summary: validation and clinical context

    Historical position. Later device-specific clearances are discussed separately; not a current blanket prohibition on all consumer medical features.

  11. FDA Roundup: September 17, 2024

    Original regulatory announcement

    FDA · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Apple Sleep Apnea Notification Feature: function and intended population

    Clearance for a particular notification feature, not validation of generic sleep-stage scores or a complete product comparison.

  12. Sleep Apnea: Diagnosis

    Agency diagnostic explanation

    NHLBI · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: History, risk factors and sleep-study assessment

  13. Combination treatment for chronic insomnia disorder in adults: an American Academy of Sleep Medicine clinical practice guideline

    Professional clinical guideline

    Buysse DJ and colleagues / AASM · Content/publication date: 2026
    Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original publication abstract and introduction passages inspected
    Cited sections: Abstract recommendations: two comparators, conditional strength, low certainty and patient preferences

    Recommendations and certainty are attributed to the guideline authors. Author disclosures include industry relationships. Full evidence, conflicts and prescribing details have not been independently appraised.

  14. What Is Sleep Quality?

    Official or original practical guidance

    National Sleep Foundation · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Fresh complete substantive original foundation article read, dated April 12, 2024. Used for its explicit definitions and the distinction from duration, not its age checklists, product standards, device equivalence or behavior prescriptions. The 2017 publisher full-text route redirected to an abstract shell: metadata abstract was available but full paper was not read. That failed route is recorded, not counted as a full-text review. Foundation article and linked consensus paper conservatively share a budget.
    Cited sections: Defining Sleep Quality: latency, awakenings, wake after sleep onset and efficiency; duration and quality context

    Definitions and illustrative arithmetic; no personal sleep-efficiency target or validated device claim.

Scope & review

Population
Age-specific sleep guidance; adult chronic-insomnia guidelines; specified adult apnea-notification population
Exposure or intervention
Duration, quality, timing, stages, measurement, insomnia-treatment categories and selected device feature
Comparison
Guideline-level CBT-I plus medication versus medication alone and CBT-I alone; laboratory versus consumer measurement
Outcomes
Sleep health, insomnia symptoms and measured sleep features; no individual treatment or device ranking
Timeframe
Regular sleep; selected 2021/2026 insomnia recommendations and 2024 device clearance
Jurisdiction
US agencies and professional consensus

Selected-source educational explanation. Source-specific findings, guidance, and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No independent systematic synthesis, formal certainty grade, or qualified expert review has been completed. The latest edition 3.4 source check applies to selected additions; older references retain their individual access dates.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Introductory page added; selected sources checked; scope documented.
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Unverifiable generated search-query labels replaced with retained reference URLs; source-check date and clinical prose preserved.
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Expanded sleep definitions, body-clock and sleep-pressure mechanisms, stages, age ranges, and habit-versus-disorder distinctions; added three NIH sources and two published questions.
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Added adult napping and shift-work questions while retaining existing expanded physiology.
  • 2026-10-06 UTC: Added related reading and made remaining editorial scope explicit in edition 3.1; source-access dates retained.
  • 2026-10-07 UTC: Edition 3.4: added reader explanations, worked examples and sourced questions; existing anchors and source-access dates preserved. Qualified review remains pending.
  • 2026-10-20 UTC: Added selected-source foundational categories, practical interpretation and comparative evidence after a full twenty-target household/environment/sleep audit. Existing prose and anchors preserved; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • How do recommendations and treatment effects differ for shift work, disability and specific sleep disorders?
  • How well do different measures of sleep predict outcomes in diverse populations?
  • Current device-specific validation, performance and intended-use comparisons.
  • Separate current explanations of chronic insomnia, apnea, hypersomnolence and circadian disorders.
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.