Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Products & safety

Regulatory and health-based thresholds: legal limits, exposure guidance and warning levels

7 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-13 UTC
On this page

A threshold is a value used for a specified decision. A legal concentration limit, an exposure-based health assessment and a warning threshold may concern the same chemical but answer different questions. A result cannot be interpreted until the substance, units, product category, jurisdiction and decision rule are identified.[1]

Name the decision before comparing numbers

Name the decision before comparing numbers
TermWhat it establishesBoundary
Maximum contaminant level goalA health goal for a drinking-water contaminantAn MCL is the separate enforceable standard for public water systems[2]
Acceptable daily intakeEstimated lifetime daily intake without appreciable health riskUsually expressed per kilogram of body weight per day, not per kilogram of product[3]
Action levelA food-contaminant level relevant to FDA enforcement policyIt is not permission to leave avoidable contamination in food[5]
Proposition 65 safe harborAn exposure level relevant to California warning requirementsIt is not a universal product concentration limit[4]

Water goals and enforceable standards can differ

EPA first establishes an MCLG from health evidence with a margin of safety. It then sets an enforceable MCL as close to that goal as feasible, considering treatment technology and cost. Some contaminants are regulated through treatment techniques instead of a numerical MCL. A health goal and a legal standard therefore should not be substituted for each other. These provisions concern public water systems; a bottled-water claim or a private-well decision needs its applicable framework.[2]

Food action levels need the right substance and use

Under 21 CFR part 109, tolerances, regulatory limits and action levels have specified legal roles and criteria. An action level can be withdrawn when a tolerance or regulatory limit for the same substance and use is established. Comparing a result with an unrelated food category, a different chemical form or an obsolete policy can produce a confident but incorrect conclusion. Read the applicable current provision, including its covered products and method of interpretation.[1]

Evidence & uncertainty

Different numbers can reflect different purposes, feasibility assumptions and evidence, rather than a simple disagreement about whether a chemical exists. Meeting a limit does not establish zero exposure; a measured exceedance does not by itself diagnose illness. Regulatory comparison and personal health assessment require different information.[2]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Can I compare a food concentration directly with an intake limit?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. An intake comparison needs food quantity, frequency and relevant body-weight assumptions as well as concentration. The units must describe the same quantity. A lifetime intake benchmark is also different from a limit addressing an acute exposure.[3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Acceptable daily intake

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Definition; exposure assessment; body-weight units

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does a Proposition 65 warning mean a product is banned?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

A warning requirement is distinct from a product ban and from an individualized risk estimate. The framework concerns specified exposures and exemptions. Interpreting a particular warning requires the chemical, exposure route and underlying assessment, not just the presence of the label.[4]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Proposition 65 safe use determination process

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Questions 3–4: warnings, exemptions, NSRL and MADL

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Where should I check which food action level applies?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Start with the current substance-specific FDA policy and applicable regulations. The booklet explains principles but states that its table dates to August 2000. Product category and contaminant identity must match the quoted provision.[5]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does no published action level mean any amount is allowed?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FDA explains that it can take enforcement action without a numerical action level when a food violates safety law. Preventive responsibilities remain relevant. The absence of a published number should not be converted into a health claim.[7]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Closer to Zero: reducing childhood exposure

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Enforcement without action levels; preventive controls

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does good-tasting water show it meets health standards?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Taste and odor address only some water qualities. EPA notes that odor-free water is not necessarily safe. Health-relevant evaluation requires the appropriate contaminant testing and current primary standards, while secondary standards address different purposes.[6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Secondary drinking-water standards

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Nonmandatory aesthetic standards; notice exception; odor limits

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

A concentration is not a daily dose

EFSA’s ADI expresses an estimated amount that can be consumed daily over a lifetime without appreciable health risk, usually as milligrams per kilogram of body weight per day. It compares estimated intake from relevant foods with that value. A product concentration alone lacks the amount consumed, frequency and body-weight assumptions. Consequently, a number in micrograms per kilogram of cereal cannot be compared directly with an intake value per kilogram of body weight. Short-term and lifetime assessments also answer different questions.[3]

Warnings use exposure assumptions of their own

California’s Proposition 65 cancer safe harbor corresponds to no more than one additional cancer case per 100,000 people exposed over a 70-year lifetime. For reproductive effects, the framework uses one-thousandth of the no-observable-effect level. These are warning-related exposure thresholds. A warning is not a quantitative measurement of the consumer’s dose or a prediction of their outcome. Absence of a warning can also reflect exemptions or the business’s assessment, rather than a complete contaminant screen.[4]

Taste and odor standards have a different purpose

EPA secondary standards generally guide aesthetic, cosmetic and technical qualities, including taste, odor and equipment effects. They are not federally enforceable like primary standards, although fluoride secondary exceedance requires specified notice and states may adopt enforceable provisions. Taste alone cannot identify which contaminants are present.[6]

A lower result does not excuse preventable contamination

FDA’s action-level guidance explicitly distinguishes unavoidable contaminants from contamination that can be prevented and rejects dilution by blending a contaminated food with another food. That booklet dates to 2000, so its chemical-specific tables should not be treated as a current universal list. Interpretation needs the current rule and the actual evidence, not a generic safe-versus-unsafe label.[5]

FDA’s Closer to Zero program also explains that enforcement does not require an established action level and that manufacturers have preventive-control responsibilities.[7]

Regulatory silence is not evidence of absence

FDA can act when a food violates safety law without an action level. An absent threshold may reflect policy, evidence or the applicable legal framework. It does not demonstrate that a substance has never been evaluated or that any concentration is acceptable.[7]

References

  1. 21 CFR part 109: unavoidable contaminants

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    eCFR · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Sections 109.6 and 109.3: criteria and scope

  2. How EPA regulates drinking-water contaminants

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    EPA · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: MCLG, MCL, feasibility and treatment techniques

  3. Acceptable daily intake

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    EFSA · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Definition; exposure assessment; body-weight units

  4. Proposition 65 safe use determination process

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    OEHHA · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Questions 3–4: warnings, exemptions, NSRL and MADL

  5. Action levels for poisonous or deleterious substances

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FDA · Content/publication date: 2000
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Introduction: avoidability, blending prohibition, table date

    Historical general guidance; chemical-specific table is not a current comprehensive list

  6. Secondary drinking-water standards

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    EPA · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Nonmandatory aesthetic standards; notice exception; odor limits

  7. Closer to Zero: reducing childhood exposure

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FDA · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original official guidance passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Enforcement without action levels; preventive controls

Scope & review

Population
General readers comparing product claims and analytical reports; not an individual exposure assessment
Exposure or intervention
Regulatory and health-based thresholds
Comparison
Source-specific alternative products and matched/control conditions
Outcomes
Meaning of testing, interpretation of claims and limits on generalization
Timeframe
Report-specific measurements and dated standards; no guarantee for untested batches or future products
Jurisdiction
Selected US agency sources, dated professional guidance and original international research; jurisdiction and eligibility are source-specific

Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a selectively sourced product-testing explanation; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • How do updated health assessments change the interpretation of older compliance reports?
  • Which exposure assumptions and decision rules underlie a specific product comparison?
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.