Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Products & safety

Meal delivery food safety: receipt checks, temperature history and handling

6 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-13 UTC
On this page

Meal delivery includes meal kits, mailed foods, groceries and prepared restaurant meals. These have different preparation needs. FDA highlights checking arriving meal kits for potential safety problems; convenience and a nutrition claim do not establish how a delivered product was handled.[1]

Distinguish the delivery before interpreting the check

Distinguish the delivery before interpreting the check
SituationWhat the guidance meansBoundary
Shipped refrigerated ingredientsCheck perishable food temperature on arrivalInsulated packaging helps; it is not a complete temperature history[2]
Hot prepared takeoutUS household advice: keep at 140°F (60°C) or above when holdingCold food has a different target[3]
Package containing dry iceAvoid direct bare-hand contactFollow sender instructions and protect recipients[4]
Commercial last-mile servicePackaging, temperature and contamination controlsCompany procedures differ from a consumer receipt check[5]

Unpack promptly and check the food, not just the packs

FoodSafety.gov advises arranging delivery when someone can receive and store the food. Inspect intact packaging, refrigeration labels and the perishable food’s temperature with a thermometer. Shipped perishables should arrive frozen, partly frozen with ice crystals, or at 40°F (4.4°C) or below. Gel packs are a cooling method, not proof that every ingredient stayed cold. Notify the company when shipped food arrives above 40°F and do not taste it to decide whether it is safe.[2]

Evidence & uncertainty

CDC’s 2025 investigation linked Salmonella illnesses to specified recalled home-delivery meals. This illustrates why a prepared or sealed meal still needs applicable safety and recall controls. The report identifies a particular incident; it cannot rank all delivery services or establish the current status of a different meal.[6]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Are gel packs proof that a delivered meal kit stayed safely cold?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FoodSafety.gov advises checking the perishable food’s temperature itself and promptly storing it. Cooling packs and insulation are controls, not proof of each ingredient’s complete temperature history.[2]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Tips for Meal Kit and Food Delivery Safety

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Company questions; receipt checks; package and food temperatures; prompt storage

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is a sealed meal delivery package proof that its food is sterile?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC investigated contamination in particular prepared home-delivery meals. A package’s seal does not establish the absence of pathogens or override a recall for that product.[6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Salmonella Outbreak Linked to Home Delivery Meals

    agency outbreak investigation · 2025
    Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Historical named meals/lot codes; recalled products no longer for sale

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

What US household target applies to holding hot takeout?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

USDA advises keeping hot foods at 140°F (60°C) or above and cold foods at 40°F (4.4°C) or below. Holding temperature differs from an internal cooking target.[3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Safe Handling of Take-Out Foods

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator · Original indexed hot/cold holding and prompt refrigeration; direct retrieval failed

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Can a recipient handle dry ice with bare hands?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

USDA advises against touching dry ice with bare hands or letting it contact food directly. The sender should warn the recipient when dry ice is included.[4]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Mail Order Food Safety

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator · Original indexed dry-ice precautions and recipient advice; direct retrieval403

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

What does last-mile delivery safety include?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

FDA’s industry best-practice announcement covers packaging, temperature and contamination controls in delivery to consumers. These are business controls; one receipt check does not validate their complete implementation.[5]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does an old delivery-meal recall apply to every later meal?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC’s 2025 notice identifies specific meals and lot codes. Match the current product to an applicable notice; historical outbreak evidence cannot determine the status of unrelated products.[6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Salmonella Outbreak Linked to Home Delivery Meals

    agency outbreak investigation · 2025
    Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Historical named meals/lot codes; recalled products no longer for sale

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Prepared-food delivery continues the handling timeline

USDA’s takeout guidance advises prompt refrigeration of perishables within two hours after purchase or delivery, and keeping cold foods at 40°F (4.4°C) or below. Shorten the limit to one hour when air temperature is above 90°F (32°C). For hot holding, its household target is 140°F (60°C) or above. A delivery timestamp does not reconstruct how long the food was unrefrigerated beforehand. Receiving a meal also does not restart all earlier storage periods. Eat or store it promptly under the applicable product directions and household guidance, accounting for the route and conditions rather than convenience alone.[3]

A mailed gift needs a recipient and a storage plan

USDA mail-order advice includes notifying the recipient and planning for prompt cold storage. Dry ice requires care: do not touch it with bare hands or let it directly contact food, and warn the recipient when it is used. These shipping precautions address physical handling as well as temperature control. A package marked “keep refrigerated” identifies a storage need; smoking, curing, vacuum packaging or previous cooking does not automatically remove that need for the particular product. Follow its actual label.[4]

Delivery safety includes controls before the doorstep

FDA’s 2022 announcement describes industry best practices developed with USDA, CDC and the Conference for Food Protection. These address packaging, temperature control, risk assessment and physical, chemical and allergen contamination, including the last mile of delivery. They are company-level measures rather than a promise that one arrival observation validates all prior handling. Ask a service about instructions and its response to an unsafe delivery. A professional control document also is not evidence that every service has implemented each measure effectively.[5]

A particular recalled meal remains a particular incident

CDC’s home-delivery outbreak page identifies named meals and lot codes from 2025 and states those meals are no longer offered for sale. That historical notice should not be turned into a permanent warning about all products from a service. Equally, good arrival temperature does not override a recall affecting the actual product. Check current notices for product identity, lot and date. Keeping the original label helps distinguish a targeted alert from an unrelated package or a similarly named meal.[6]

A receipt check reduces uncertainty without removing all of it

FoodSafety.gov recommends asking companies about safety practices and unsafe deliveries. A thermometer reading, intact package and cooking instructions help the recipient decide what to do. They cannot identify every pathogen or reconstruct an unknown interval in transit. This page cannot approve a delivery from a photograph or compare services’ performance. Handling instructions should distinguish raw meal-kit components from prepared meals, including foods intended to be eaten cold.[2]

References

  1. 5 Red Flags to Look For When Shopping for Meal Kits

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FDA · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Original landing-page arrival-check explanation; linked infographic retrieval failed

    The five infographic details were not inspected or relied upon.

  2. Tips for Meal Kit and Food Delivery Safety

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FoodSafety.gov · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Company questions; receipt checks; package and food temperatures; prompt storage

  3. Safe Handling of Take-Out Foods

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    USDA FSIS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator
    Cited sections: Original indexed hot/cold holding and prompt refrigeration; direct retrieval failed

  4. Mail Order Food Safety

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    USDA FSIS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed source passages inspected; full document not inspected; direct-access limits are recorded in locator
    Cited sections: Original indexed dry-ice precautions and recipient advice; direct retrieval403

  5. FDA Highlights Best Practices for Food Safety for Online Delivery Services

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FDA · Content/publication date: 2022
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Original industry collaboration announcement: packaging, temperature, contamination and last mile

  6. Salmonella Outbreak Linked to Home Delivery Meals

    Agency outbreak investigation

    CDC · Content/publication date: 2025
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original source page passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Historical named meals/lot codes; recalled products no longer for sale

Scope & review

Population
Household consumers; risk groups and particular foods are identified where relevant
Exposure or intervention
Practical microbial safety in household handling; nutrition and food-contact material health are separate
Comparison
Raw meal kits versus prepared meals; cold shipment versus hot delivery; measured arrival temperature versus full transit history; personal receipt versus industry controls
Outcomes
Avoiding contamination, limiting microbial growth and achieving source-specific cooking controls
Timeframe
Food-specific handling episodes, storage conditions and dated official guidance; no universal storage clock
Jurisdiction
Selected US, Canadian, UK and other identified public guidance; household advice is distinguished from business requirements

Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a sourced explanation in a bounded ten-article batch; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • How well do particular services maintain temperature during varied real delivery routes?
  • What can establish food temperature history when arrival is delayed and unobserved?
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.