Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Food & nutrition

Low-sodium labels: serving bases, reduced claims and salt terminology

7 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-13 UTC
On this page

Low-sodium is an absolute nutrient-content claim, whereas reduced sodium compares a food with an appropriate reference food. US FDA requirements depend on the food category and reference amount. Reduced does not establish low sodium; no-added-salt is separate.[1]

Similar-looking label statements answer different questions

Similar-looking label statements answer different questions
Statement or settingMeaningLimit
US ordinary-food low sodiumNo more than 140 mg per reference amountSmall reference amounts need an additional 50 g check[1]
US meals/main dishesNo more than 140 mg per 100 gDifferent basis from ordinary foods[1]
EU low sodium/saltNo more than 0.12 g sodium per 100 g or 100 mlSpecified water exception[2]
ANZ low saltNo more than 120 mg sodium per 100 gCompare the same amount of similar foods[4]

Preserve the unit and food category

The ordinary US low-sodium criterion is no more than 140 mg per reference amount customarily consumed. For foods with small reference amounts, an additional criterion per 50 g applies; meals and main dishes instead use the specified 100 g basis. Per-serving and per 100 g figures have different bases; sauces and ready meals may have different category conditions. Identify the denominator and food.[1]

Canadian serving information also matters

Health Canada’s table gives low-sodium conditions for both the reference amount and stated serving, with small-amount and meal provisions. A Canadian 140 mg statement therefore should not be reduced to a universal 140 mg per 100 g rule. Keep the country, category and labelled amount attached when comparing packages or interpreting imported advice.[3]

Evidence & uncertainty

CDC explains that sodium occurs in table salt and in ingredients such as baking soda, preservatives and flavouring compounds. The sodium figure therefore captures more than salt sprinkled during cooking. For a packaged-food comparison, the complete nutrient amount is more informative than checking whether table salt appears to have been added.[5]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Does reduced-sodium wording mean the final food qualifies as low sodium?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Reduced is a comparison with an appropriate reference food. Low sodium is an absolute criterion, so a reduction may still leave a substantial sodium amount.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • 21 CFR 101.61: Sodium claims

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Low-sodium reference/small-amount/meal bases; reduced and no-added-salt claims

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does no-added-salt mean the food is sodium-free?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FDA’s regulation distinguishes no-added-salt from sodium-free. Sodium can remain from ingredients or natural composition, and the applicable accompanying wording matters.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • 21 CFR 101.61: Sodium claims

    technical or regulatory guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Low-sodium reference/small-amount/meal bases; reduced and no-added-salt claims

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Can US and ANZ low-salt thresholds be compared without their quantity bases?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FSANZ’s low-salt criterion uses 120 mg sodium per 100 g. Preserve the jurisdiction and denominator rather than treating it as a universal per-serving rule.[4]

Evidence behind this answer
  • How much sodium and salt are we eating?

    technical or regulatory guidance · 2025
    Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Low-salt 120 mg/100 g; reduced 25%; like-food panel comparisons

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Are salt grams the same quantity as sodium grams?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC says salt is about 40% sodium by weight. Sodium also occurs in other compounds, so the nutrient amount is not just the table-salt amount.[5]

Evidence behind this answer
  • About Sodium and Health

    technical or regulatory guidance · 2026
    Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Salt 40%sodium, compounds beyond salt and blood-pressure effects

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Why check servings per container on a low-sodium product?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

CDC recommends considering both sodium per serving and serving count. Consuming multiple servings changes the total amount, even when the package carries a favourable claim.[7]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Tips for Reducing Sodium Intake

    technical or regulatory guidance · 2026
    Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Reading sodium amounts and servings/container; label comparison

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does a low-sodium product claim predict a person’s blood-pressure response?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC’s advice concerns sodium exposure and cardiovascular risk. A nutrient-content label does not measure a person’s response or prescribe an individual intake target.[7]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Tips for Reducing Sodium Intake

    technical or regulatory guidance · 2026
    Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal · Reading sodium amounts and servings/container; label comparison

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Salt weight is different from sodium weight

CDC states that salt is approximately 40% sodium by weight. Sodium can also be present in compounds other than sodium chloride. Consequently, a salt amount and a sodium amount are not numerically interchangeable, and a low-salt food description is not evidence that sodium exists only as table salt. Ingredients identify compounds; the panel gives overall quantity on its stated basis. This distinction prevents overlooking sodium sources whose names do not simply say salt.[5]

A reduced-salt comparison can leave a substantial amount

FSANZ describes low-salt at no more than 120 mg sodium per 100 g and reduced-sodium or reduced-salt at least 25% lower than a reference food. The reference matters: reducing a high amount still can leave more sodium than an absolute low claim permits. Its advice to compare like foods using the same quantity supports a meaningful shopping comparison. These ANZ criteria should not be silently substituted for US serving-based criteria, even when the packaging uses a similar adjective.[4]

Check how many servings are actually involved

FDA’s sodium education advises reading sodium and percent Daily Value along with serving size and servings per container. Its 5% and 20% Daily Value comparison cues describe low and high contributions on the panel; they should not be confused with the formal low-sodium claim’s complete qualifying rules. A larger consumed portion supplies more sodium than one label serving. The front claim does not calculate the amount consumed.[6]

Use the claim as one input to a food comparison

CDC recommends checking sodium per serving and the number of servings in a package, and comparing labels when choosing foods. This is a practical way to identify differences among similar products. It does not require treating every package without a low claim as nutritionally inferior, because the actual numbers and portion may still matter. Other nutrients and the food’s role in meals remain separate considerations. The label gives composition information; it cannot reconstruct the rest of the day’s intake.[7]

A nutrient label is not a personal blood-pressure prediction

CDC explains that excess sodium can raise blood pressure, an important cardiovascular risk factor. A product’s label does not show it was tested against all alternatives for clinical events. What it replaces and the broader diet determine exposure; the label does not predict an individual response.[5]

References

  1. 21 CFR 101.61: Sodium claims

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    eCFR / US Government · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Low-sodium reference/small-amount/meal bases; reduced and no-added-salt claims

  2. Nutrition claims

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    European Commission · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: LOW SODIUM/SALT:0.12 g/100 g or 100 ml and water exception

  3. Table of Permitted Nutrient Content Statements and Claims

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    Health Canada · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Item 32: reference and stated serving, small reference amounts and meals

  4. How much sodium and salt are we eating?

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    Food Standards Australia New Zealand · Content/publication date: 2025
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Low-salt 120 mg/100 g; reduced 25%; like-food panel comparisons

  5. About Sodium and Health

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    CDC · Content/publication date: 2026
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Salt 40%sodium, compounds beyond salt and blood-pressure effects

  6. Sodium in Your Diet

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    FDA · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Serving sizes, Daily Value comparison cues and claims

  7. Tips for Reducing Sodium Intake

    Technical or regulatory guidance

    CDC · Content/publication date: 2026
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original page or document passages inspected; no independent full-document appraisal
    Cited sections: Reading sodium amounts and servings/container; label comparison

Scope & review

Population
Consumers comparing packaged food labels; food-specific and jurisdiction-specific conditions are identified
Exposure or intervention
Meaning and interpretation of food-label claims, distinct from individual dietary treatment
Comparison
Absolute low criteria versus reference-food reductions and no-added-salt wording; sodium versus salt and serving versus100g
Outcomes
Label accuracy, nutrient composition, consumer interpretation and source-specific health evidence
Timeframe
Current rules and dated guidance checked 13 October 2026; research timeframes are stated separately
Jurisdiction
Selected FDA, Canadian, EU and ANZ claim criteria; CDC dietary guidance is distinguished from the claim regulation

Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a sourced explanation in a bounded ten-article batch; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • What is the appropriate reference product for a particular reduction claim?
  • How does the product substitution change the amount consumed over the whole diet?
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.