Products & safety
Lightning safety: shelter, timing, exposure and emergency response
On this page
Lightning is an electrical discharge associated with thunderstorms. Hearing thunder means the storm can be close enough to pose a strike threat. No outdoor position is a safe lightning shelter; planning access to a substantial building or enclosed hard-topped vehicle is more useful than waiting until rain becomes heavy.[1]
Terms and practical distinctions
| Term | Meaning | Boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Lightning shelter | Substantial enclosed building or enclosed metal-topped vehicle | A rain shelter or open vehicle is different[2] |
| Conducting path | Electricity can travel through wiring, plumbing or other conductors | Shelter still requires avoiding these contacts[4] |
| Lightning victim | A person injured by a strike or its effects | The person does not retain an electrical charge[3] |
Shelter has to be reachable before the storm arrives
NOAA recommends planning where the safest shelter is, how far away it is and how long the group needs to reach it. A forecast checked before departure does not replace watching developing conditions. Substantial enclosed buildings and enclosed metal-topped vehicles provide protection; picnic pavilions, beach shacks, porches, open golf carts and convertibles do not. Rubber tires or rubber-soled shoes do not insulate someone from lightning. This is a shelter distinction, not a promise that carrying a particular object makes an exposed outdoor activity safe.[2]
Rain is a poor signal for beginning and ending precautions
The National Weather Service advises seeking safe shelter immediately when thunder is heard or skies become threatening. Cancel or postpone activities early if storms are expected. After entering shelter, wait thirty minutes after the last lightning or thunder before returning outside. A storm can strike outside the raining area, and people also return too soon after rain weakens. The timing rule is public safety guidance rather than a personalized probability calculation. It should be part of the group’s plan before someone has to argue for stopping an activity.[1]
Evidence & uncertainty
The Wilderness Medical Society’s 2014 update combines prevention and organ-system treatment recommendations. It explains that evidence about injuries often comes from case reports and case series. Such clinical evidence informs care without constituting a controlled trial of exposing people to lightning.[6]
Selected-source overview · Independent review pendingPublished questions
Should a group wait for rain before taking shelter from audible thunder?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. NWS says thunder signals a strike threat and shelter should be sought immediately. Lightning can reach outside the area where rain is falling.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Overview: Lightning Safety
official guidance · Date not stated
Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · Shelter, early cancellation, thirty-minute last-lightning/thunder rule and victims
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Is a picnic pavilion the same lightning shelter as an enclosed building?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. NOAA distinguishes substantial enclosed structures from open-sided rain shelters. Shelter from rain alone does not establish protection from lightning.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Lightning Safety
official guidance · 2026
Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · June 2026 shelter categories, unsafe structures, rubber myth and planning questions
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can touching a lightning-strike victim electrocute a rescuer because the victim stores charge?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. NWS says the body does not store the electrical charge. Help is needed promptly, while the continuing storm remains a separate scene hazard.[3]
Evidence behind this answer
- Lightning Myths and Facts
official guidance · Date not stated
Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · Crouching, lying flat, trees, metal, distant strikes and safe contact with victims
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Is a mobile phone suitable for calling emergency services during a lightning storm?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Yes. CDC says a cell or cordless phone is safe for the emergency call. That differs from using a corded phone or connected electrical equipment.[4]
Evidence behind this answer
- Safety Guidelines: Lightning
official guidance · 2026
Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · June 2026 indoor conduction paths and first-aid call/scene/resuscitation guidance
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does a low national annual lightning risk establish safety outdoors during audible thunder?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. National odds average many different exposures. CDC’s regional and activity patterns cannot calculate safety at a specific place during an active storm.[5]
Evidence behind this answer
- Lightning Strike Victim Data
agency surveillance summary · 2026
Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · July 2026 US 2006–2025 deaths, regional/seasonal/activity context and average odds
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Were all treatments in the selected lightning guideline established by large randomized trials?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. The WMS preview says injury evidence often comes from case reports and series. Its clinical recommendations are not evidence of randomized testing for every treatment.[6]
Evidence behind this answer
- Wilderness Medical Society Practice Guidelines for the Prevention and Treatment of Lightning Injuries: 2014 Update
professional clinical guideline · 2014
Original publisher indexed abstract and section previews inspected; direct full-page retrieval returned 403; full text not independently appraised · Original publisher indexed abstract, introduction and methods preview; case-report/series evidence limitation
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
A tree, crouch or metal-free pocket does not create safety
NWS rejects crouching as a way to become safe outdoors and warns against sheltering under a tree or lying flat. A strike can affect people through ground current, and lightning can reach beyond the cloud or rain area. Metal conducts electricity but does not determine where lightning strikes; height, shape and isolation matter. Do not waste precious shelter time removing jewelry. These corrections address mistaken precautions, not a list of outdoor tricks that guarantees survival when a safe shelter is far away. Continued movement toward appropriate shelter remains the priority.[3]
A struck person is safe to touch, but the scene may still be dangerous
CDC says to call 911 immediately after a strike, giving the location and number of people affected. A mobile or cordless phone is safe for that call. Victims do not carry stored electrical charge, so that fear must not delay help. Continued lightning can still threaten rescuers and victims; assess the scene and follow emergency instructions. Lightning may cause cardiac arrest. Training in CPR is preparation for this situation; this guide does not replace practical instruction or dispatch guidance during an emergency.[4]
NWS recommends CPR or an automated external defibrillator when needed after a lightning strike.[1]
A low average annual risk does not clear an active storm
CDC’s July 2026 data page reports 517 US lightning deaths during 2006–2025. Deaths commonly occur during outdoor recreation and in summer afternoons, with substantial regional differences. The population’s average annual odds include many people who are indoors or never encounter an active storm. They therefore cannot estimate the safety of standing on a particular ridge or lake while thunder is audible. Fatality totals also measure a different outcome from all injuries. Patterns of activity and exposure help explain why a national average cannot replace immediate precautions.[5]
Clinical reports and weather advice answer different questions
The WMS update was produced by an expert panel using literature searches and review of injury evidence. It organizes treatment by affected organ system and considers prevention separately. The original publisher’s indexed preview notes that available evidence is often limited to reports and series rather than large comparative studies. This historical guideline is not presented as a newly completed 2026 review, nor as proof that all treatments were tested in randomized trials. Current NOAA and CDC pages provide the public precautions used here; formal evidence grading has not been repeated for this guide.[6]
References
- Overview: Lightning Safety
Official guidance
National Weather Service · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
Cited sections: Shelter, early cancellation, thirty-minute last-lightning/thunder rule and victims - Lightning Safety
Official guidance
NOAA · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
Cited sections: June 2026 shelter categories, unsafe structures, rubber myth and planning questions - Lightning Myths and Facts
Official guidance
National Weather Service · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
Cited sections: Crouching, lying flat, trees, metal, distant strikes and safe contact with victims - Safety Guidelines: Lightning
Official guidance
CDC · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
Cited sections: June 2026 indoor conduction paths and first-aid call/scene/resuscitation guidance - Lightning Strike Victim Data
Agency surveillance summary
CDC · Content/publication date: 2026
Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
Cited sections: July 2026 US 2006–2025 deaths, regional/seasonal/activity context and average odds - Wilderness Medical Society Practice Guidelines for the Prevention and Treatment of Lightning Injuries: 2014 Update
Professional clinical guideline
Davis C and colleagues / WMS · Content/publication date: 2014
Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Original publisher indexed abstract and section previews inspected; direct full-page retrieval returned 403; full text not independently appraised
Cited sections: Original publisher indexed abstract, introduction and methods preview; case-report/series evidence limitation
Scope & review
- Population
- General readers; age, exposure and study populations distinguished
- Exposure or intervention
- Lightning safety: shelter, timing, exposure and emergency response
- Comparison
- Enclosed shelter versus rain cover; national average odds versus active-storm exposure; stored-charge myth versus continued scene danger; case reports versus trials
- Outcomes
- Source-specific illness, injuries, skills, preventive behavior and harms
- Timeframe
- Immediate exposure and source-specific study follow-up
- Jurisdiction
- US NWS/NOAA/CDC public precautions and a dated WMS clinical guideline; elsewhere use local emergency services and weather warnings.
Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.
Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.
Revision history
- 2026-10-14 UTC: Added a sourced explanation in a bounded ten-article batch; qualified review remains pending.
What this article still leaves open
- Which substantial shelter is reachable before conditions worsen?
- Clinical injury evidence often uses case reports and series; current source dates do not mean a new systematic review, and qualified review remains pending.
Suggest a correction
Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.
Your submitted corrections for this article
Explore the topic map
Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.