Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Prevention & care

Laxatives: bulk-forming, osmotic, stimulant and stool-softening medicines

7 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-13 UTC
On this page

Laxatives are medicines that help stool pass. They may increase stool bulk, retain water, stimulate bowel movement or soften stool. Oral powders, tablets, suppositories and enemas are different preparations. Their shared purpose does not establish identical onset, instructions or suitability, and products used for bowel preparation require their own clinical plan.[1]

Ingredient categories have different purposes

Ingredient categories have different purposes
CategoryPurpose or mechanismBoundary
Bulk-formingIncreases stool bulk and softness, such as ispaghulaRequires appropriate fluid intake and suitability[1]
OsmoticRetains or brings water into stool, such as PEGFormulation and clinical context govern use[3]
StimulantHelps bowel movement, such as bisacodylTablets and suppositories have different timing[5]
Stool softenerAllows water/fat into stool, such as docusateOral and rectal preparations are not interchangeable[4]

Fluid requirements and the person’s circumstances belong in the instructions

NHS guidance describes bulk-forming products as increasing fiber in stool and triggering bowel movement. It emphasizes fluid intake with bulk-forming and osmotic preparations and professional advice for difficulty swallowing, heart conditions, pregnancy and other relevant circumstances. A general suggestion to use fiber is not enough to establish that a particular powder is suitable. Products can cause bloating or other effects. The exact label and a pharmacist’s assessment should guide use rather than an assumed universal constipation recipe.[1]

Docusate illustrates why the formulation matters

NHS describes swallowed docusate capsules and liquid as well as rectal enemas. The routes act over different timeframes. Its guidance advises against the enema in people with hemorrhoids or an anal fissure, even though oral docusate may be used when softer stool is helpful in those settings. This apparent contradiction disappears when route is retained. A name alone does not determine an appropriate preparation, and advice about one formulation should not be transferred to another.[4]

Evidence & uncertainty

The 2023 AGA–ACG guideline concerns chronic idiopathic constipation in adults. It gives different recommendations for different medicines, with varying evidence certainty. Its studies and outcomes do not automatically describe a new brief episode, constipation caused by another disease, opioid-related constipation or children. A favorable trial result does not identify an individual regimen.[2]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Are bulk-forming and osmotic laxatives the same mechanism?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Bulk-forming preparations increase stool bulk, while osmotic preparations retain or draw water into stool. Their fluid needs, instructions and suitability require the actual product context.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Laxatives

    official medicine guidance · Date not stated
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · Definition, four categories, fluid requirements and suitability precautions

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Can oral docusate advice be copied to a docusate enema?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. NHS distinguishes their timing and cautions against the enema with hemorrhoids or anal fissure. The same ingredient name does not make the routes interchangeable.[4]

Evidence behind this answer
  • About docusate

    official medicine guidance · 2024
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · Oral versus enema formulations; hemorrhoid/fissure route warning and timeframes

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does PEG’s lack of an immediate effect justify repeating extra amounts?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Its effect can take several days. Follow the exact directions and seek professional advice instead of treating immediate response as a dosing test.[3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Polyethylene glycol 3350 drug information

    official medicine guidance · Date not stated
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · Occasional-constipation purpose, delayed effect, obstruction and medicine precautions

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Are sodium-phosphate enemas free from kidney or heart warnings?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. FDA’s communication covers rectal as well as oral sodium phosphate. Overuse and relevant health conditions require particular attention.[6]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does the adult chronic-idiopathic-constipation guideline cover every cause and age?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Its population and evidence differ from children, opioid-related constipation and constipation caused by other conditions. An assessment determines which evidence applies.[2]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does bisacodyl reduce the calories absorbed from a meal?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. NHS explicitly states that it does not reduce calorie intake or help weight loss. Diarrhea and electrolyte disturbance are harms, not evidence of successful weight management.[7]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Common questions about bisacodyl

    official medicine guidance · 2024
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · Weight loss/calories and prolonged-use electrolyte warnings

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

An osmotic medicine is not an immediate-response test

MedlinePlus describes polyethylene glycol 3350 as a powder for occasional constipation that retains water in stool. A bowel movement can take several days. It directs users to disclose possible bowel obstruction, including symptoms such as vomiting, pain or bloating, and to discuss pregnancy and other medicines. Do not interpret a lack of an immediate response as permission to repeatedly add more. A medicine’s symptom purpose does not establish the cause of the constipation.[3]

Faster action does not make repeated unsupervised use appropriate

NHS bisacodyl guidance distinguishes oral tablets from suppositories and describes nausea, diarrhea and abdominal cramps among common effects. Its short self-care instructions differ from a clinician’s plan for an ongoing problem. The page also describes hospital use before procedures, where the hospital provides instructions. A bowel-preparation regimen cannot be improvised from an everyday constipation package. Ask about the actual product, duration and reason for use rather than treating every stimulant as the same intervention.[5]

A rectal route does not remove every systemic safety concern

FDA’s January 2014 sodium-phosphate communication warns that exceeding labeled amounts can cause rare serious kidney or heart injury, including death. It concerns both oral solutions and rectal enemas, with particular concerns for dehydration, kidney disease, bowel obstruction and medicines affecting kidney function. This is a preparation-specific safety warning, not a finding that every laxative has the same risk. An inadequate first response should not prompt an extra dose outside the product’s directions.[6]

Short self-care advice and chronic-treatment evidence have different scope

The AGA–ACG guideline recommends PEG for adult chronic idiopathic constipation and bisacodyl or sodium picosulfate for short-term or rescue use. Fiber supplementation receives a conditional recommendation, with limited evidence varying by fiber type. The guideline’s trial comparisons generally involved placebo or management without the tested intervention. These findings are not a ranking for every cause of constipation. A longer professionally supervised plan can coexist with a package’s short self-care limit without making that limit optional.[2]

Laxatives are not a calorie-removal or detoxification strategy

NHS explains that bisacodyl does not reduce calories taken in by the body and does not help with weight loss. Prolonged use can cause diarrhea and disturbances in body salts. More stool output is therefore not evidence of fat loss or removal of unspecified toxins. Treat a product’s bowel effect as a medicine effect with a defined purpose. If repeated use is connected with weight concerns or difficulty stopping, discuss that pattern with an appropriate healthcare professional.[7]

References

  1. Laxatives

    Official medicine guidance

    NHS · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Definition, four categories, fluid requirements and suitability precautions

  2. AGA–ACG pharmacological management of chronic idiopathic constipation guideline

    Clinical practice guideline

    Chang and colleagues / AGA–ACG · Content/publication date: 2023
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected original full-text scope, methods and recommendation passages inspected; underlying trials not independently appraised
    Cited sections: Scope/population, recommendations Table 1 and comparator/outcome methods

  3. Polyethylene glycol 3350 drug information

    Official medicine guidance

    MedlinePlus / ASHP · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Occasional-constipation purpose, delayed effect, obstruction and medicine precautions

  4. About docusate

    Official medicine guidance

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Oral versus enema formulations; hemorrhoid/fissure route warning and timeframes

  5. About bisacodyl

    Official medicine guidance

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Stimulant category, formulations, hospital use, common effects and short-use boundary

  6. FDA warning on excessive OTC sodium-phosphate use for constipation

    Official medicine guidance

    FDA · Content/publication date: 2014
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original indexed official safety-communication PDF passages inspected; direct PDF retrieval unavailable
    Cited sections: January 8, 2014 safety communication: oral/rectal products, kidney/heart injury and susceptible circumstances

  7. Common questions about bisacodyl

    Official medicine guidance

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2024
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: Weight loss/calories and prolonged-use electrolyte warnings

Scope & review

Population
Adult medicine readers; children, pregnancy, suspected obstruction and specific illnesses require appropriate clinical guidance
Exposure or intervention
Constipation medicines across bulk-forming, osmotic, stimulant and stool-softening classes
Comparison
Different mechanisms/routes and short self-care versus adult chronic idiopathic constipation; source-specific comparisons against placebo or no tested intervention
Outcomes
Stool passage, formulation understanding, adverse effects and evidence applicability
Timeframe
Product-specific short-use instructions versus trials for adult chronic idiopathic constipation; sources checked October 13, 2026 UTC
Jurisdiction
UK NHS and US MedlinePlus/FDA guidance; US AGA–ACG 2023 adult guideline; no individual treatment or dosing plan

Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a bounded OTC companion explanation in edition 4.4; selected sources checked October 13, 2026 UTC; expert review pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • Which longer-term regimens improve symptoms and quality of life with acceptable harms in specific constipation subtypes?
  • How can formulations be compared without transferring oral directions to rectal products?
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.