Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Products & safety

Clothing and textiles: fibers, finishes, skin reactions and functional claims

8 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-13 UTC
On this page

A textile combines fibers, fabric structure, dyes and possible finishes. A fiber-content label is useful, but does not describe every manufacturing chemical or coating. Crease resistance, repellency, odor control and ultraviolet protection are different functions. The health question therefore concerns the complete garment, its use and its contact with skin, rather than a natural-versus-synthetic label alone.[1]

Distinguish fiber origin from the finished garment

Textile distinctions
CategoryMeaning and limits
Natural fibersCotton, linen, silk and wool are examples; dye and finish remain separate characteristics.[2]
Manufactured fibersPolyester and nylon are examples; manufacture alone does not identify a person’s allergy trigger.[2]
Rayon or viscose from bambooA manufactured cellulose textile, distinct from fabric made directly from bamboo fiber.[3]
Functional finishA treatment can add crease resistance, repellency or odor-control properties.[1]
Sun-protective garmentA specified fabric/design function evaluated through UV transmission and coverage.[6]

Plant feedstock does not preserve every plant property

FTC explains that rayon made using bamboo must be identified as rayon or viscose made from bamboo, unless the textile is actually made directly from bamboo fiber. The consumer guidance also cautions that processed bamboo rayon cannot simply inherit a claim of natural antibacterial action from the growing plant. Origin, processing and finished-product performance are separate. A soft texture is not an independent demonstration of a healthier garment.[3][4]

Evidence & uncertainty

Skin irritation, contact allergy, ultraviolet protection and chemical-exposure estimates need separate appraisal. Textile allergens are often processing additives or accessories rather than the fiber itself. A detected contaminant or a laboratory antimicrobial result is also different from a measured illness outcome in people wearing the garment.[2]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Does a cotton label mean the garment has no chemical finish?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. The fiber label does not list every chemical used in production. A cotton garment can still be dyed or treated for crease resistance, repellency or odor control.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Chemicals in clothing

    agency health explanation · Date not stated
    Original relevant government explanation inspected · Fiber labels, chemical finishing and exposure distinctions; numerical historical legal limits not used

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is bamboo rayon naturally antibacterial because bamboo plants are?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

That inference is not established. FTC distinguishes processed rayon from direct bamboo fiber and warns against transferring the growing plant’s properties to the manufactured textile.[3]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Bamboo Fabrics

    agency consumer guidance · Date not stated
    Original relevant consumer guidance inspected · Original consumer explanation: manufactured rayon and unproven natural antibacterial claims

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Can a zipper or elastic matter more than the shirt’s main fiber?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. Metal fasteners, rubber components, dyes and finishes can be contact-allergy sources. The relevant trigger can be a component rather than the main fiber identified on the label.[2]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Textile contact dermatitis

    professional clinical review · Date not stated
    Original relevant clinical explanation inspected · Original authored clinical explanation: fibers, additives, fasteners, sweat/friction and delayed reaction

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Did the school-uniform study measure disease caused by wearing the products?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. It measured selected product contents and modeled potential exposure. The concentration range and modeled body-weight-based estimate are not clinical outcomes or direct measurements of absorption.[5]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does UPF 50 protect skin the garment does not cover?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. A material rating describes UV transmission under specified conditions. Coverage, stretching and wetness matter; exposed skin needs other sun-protection measures.[6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Sun protective clothing

    professional prevention guidance · Date not stated
    Original relevant prevention guidance inspected · What is UPF?; AS4399:2020 table; stretch, moisture, coverage and care limitations

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does a textile certificate guarantee no individual allergy?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. STANDARD 100 addresses specified substance tests and intended-use classes. That scope should not be extended into a guarantee for every sensitized person or an unrelated functional claim.[7]

Evidence behind this answer
  • OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100

    original certification scheme document · Date not stated
    Original scheme documentation inspected; its promotional language is not adopted as clinical proof · Original scheme explanation: four intended-use classes, test limits and certificate checking

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Friction and contact allergy are different mechanisms

DermNet describes clothing dermatitis as irritation or allergy associated with textiles in contact with skin. Sweat, rubbing and close fit can aggravate symptoms. Dyes, finishing resins, rubber components and metal fasteners can act as allergens. Delayed itchy redness does not identify which component caused it, and an occasional rash does not establish systemic toxicity. A person with an established allergy needs the particular exposure considered; switching every garment to a different fiber can miss the real trigger.[2]

A textile concentration and a body dose are different quantities

A 2022 study analyzed seventy-two children’s textile products marketed as stain-resistant. Targeted PFAS concentrations ranged from 0.250 to 153,000 nanograms per gram, with a median of 117 ng/g. These amounts describe analyzed products, not a representative estimate for all clothing. The investigators modeled potential dermal exposure through uniforms at a median 1.03 nanograms per kilogram of body weight per day. That estimate was not a measured absorbed dose or a clinical disease result. Cotton uniforms in this selected sample sometimes had higher levels than synthetic blends, illustrating why fiber origin alone cannot identify a finish.[5]

UPF measures a real function, with real use limitations

Cancer Council Australia explains UPF through ultraviolet transmission and garment coverage. UPF 30 material allows approximately one-thirtieth, or 3.3%, of incident UV through under the specified dry, unstretched conditions; UPF 50 corresponds to about 2%. Stretch, wetness and fabric deterioration can change protection. Coverage matters because a high-rated sleeve does not protect uncovered skin. Its guidance combines clothing with shade, hats, sunglasses and appropriate sunscreen; the rating is a performance measure rather than a guarantee against skin cancer.[6]

Certification has a defined scope

OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100 describes tests for listed harmful substances and separates four classes: products for young children, direct-skin-contact textiles, textiles without direct skin contact and decoration materials. Its limits are tied to intended use and reviewed over time. A certificate number can be checked with the scheme. This is more specific than an unexplained non-toxic claim, but should not be turned into a personal allergy guarantee or proof of superior UV protection, environmental performance or clinical outcomes.[7]

Odor control is different from demonstrated infection prevention

European Commission guidance describes articles treated with or incorporating biocidal products and sets out labeling and consumer-information provisions. Consumers can request biocidal-treatment information from the supplier, free within forty-five days. These provisions concern the actual treatment, not proof that wearing an antibacterial shirt prevents illness. A claim should specify whether it protects the fabric, reduces odor or changes a relevant human outcome; those are different comparisons and require different evidence.[8]

References

  1. Chemicals in clothing

    Agency health explanation

    German Federal Ministry of Health portal · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original relevant government explanation inspected
    Cited sections: Fiber labels, chemical finishing and exposure distinctions; numerical historical legal limits not used

  2. Textile contact dermatitis

    Professional clinical review

    DermNet · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original relevant clinical explanation inspected
    Cited sections: Original authored clinical explanation: fibers, additives, fasteners, sweat/friction and delayed reaction

  3. Bamboo Fabrics

    Agency consumer guidance

    Federal Trade Commission · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original relevant consumer guidance inspected
    Cited sections: Original consumer explanation: manufactured rayon and unproven natural antibacterial claims

  4. Bamboo Textiles

    Agency regulatory guidance

    Federal Trade Commission · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original relevant FTC labeling guidance inspected
    Cited sections: Original FTC guidance: bamboo fiber versus rayon/viscose labeling

  5. Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances in North American School Uniforms

    Original product laboratory research

    Xia et al. · Content/publication date: 2022
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original abstract inspected; full article not retrieved
    Cited sections: Original abstract: seventy-two selected products, concentration range and modeled exposure

  6. Sun protective clothing

    Professional prevention guidance

    Cancer Council Australia · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original relevant prevention guidance inspected
    Cited sections: What is UPF?; AS4399:2020 table; stretch, moisture, coverage and care limitations

  7. OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100

    Original certification scheme document

    OEKO-TEX · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original scheme documentation inspected; its promotional language is not adopted as clinical proof
    Cited sections: Original scheme explanation: four intended-use classes, test limits and certificate checking

  8. Treated articles

    Agency regulatory explanation

    European Commission · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-13 UTC · Original relevant European Commission guidance inspected
    Cited sections: Original regulation explanation: treated article scope, labeling and forty-five-day information provision

Scope & review

Population
General readers; study-specific populations are identified
Exposure or intervention
Clothing and textiles
Comparison
Source-specific formulation, vehicle, usual care or nonuse; products are not assumed interchangeable
Outcomes
Definitions, practical distinctions, tested outcomes, safety and uncertainty
Timeframe
Selected historical and current evidence checked 2026-10-13
Jurisdiction
US and explicitly identified international sources; local requirements differ

Bounded selected-source educational explanation distinguishing official guidance, study findings and editorial interpretation. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified clinical review.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-13 UTC: Added a definition-first explanation with formulation-specific evidence and explicit uncertainty.

What this article still leaves open

  • No individual rash diagnosis, safe-brand ranking or full garment-exposure assessment is supplied.
  • Environmental impacts, occupational textile exposures and infection-prevention claims are not comprehensively reviewed.
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.