Health Atlas
Menu
Evidence-led reference

Products & safety

Animal bites: wound injury, infection, tetanus and rabies assessment

8 sources · Latest source check 2026-10-20 UTC
On this page

A bite can injure skin and deeper structures and introduce saliva into a wound. A puncture may look small outside while needing assessment for deeper damage. This guide covers mammal and human bites, especially dogs and cats; snakebite has separate venom risks and first-aid guidance.[1]

Terms and practical distinctions

Terms and practical distinctions
TermMeaningBoundary
Bite woundSkin and tissue injury from teeth, with contaminationCleaning does not assess every deeper injury[1]
Hand fight biteA human bite may follow a clenched-fist punchJoint contamination can need urgent surgery[2]
Rabies exposurePotential virus contact from an infected mammal’s salivaThe wound’s appearance cannot establish the viral risk[6]
TetanusSerious infection caused by environmental bacteriaIts vaccination assessment is separate from bite-wound antibiotics[4]

Clean promptly while recognizing wounds needing urgent help

NHS recommends washing with soap and warm water, controlling heavy bleeding with firm pressure using a clean cloth or dressing, and covering the cleaned wound. Large or deep wounds and bleeding that cannot be stopped need emergency assessment. Bites to hands, feet, face or head, human bites, retained material, heat, swelling, leaking fluid, unpleasant smell or fever warrant urgent advice through NHS 111. Elsewhere use local urgent and emergency services. Home cleaning does not replace this assessment, and closing a contaminated wound is a separate clinical decision.[1]

Small hand wounds can threaten function

The British Society for Surgery of the Hand standard concerns human and animal bites specifically to the hand. It calls for emergency specialist assessment for infection or sepsis, penetrating joint injury, open fracture, vascular compromise or significant tissue damage. A clenched-fist human bite can contaminate a joint and need urgent surgical exploration. The outcome includes infection-free healing and preserved movement, not simply closing a small skin mark. This specialist standard cannot be applied as a home test of tendons or joints, nor as a prediction that every bite requires surgery.[2]

A bat bite may be difficult to notice

CDC notes that bat bites can be tiny and may go unrecognized. After a bite, scratch, saliva contact with eyes, mouth or broken skin, or possible physical contact you cannot confidently exclude, seek prompt medical/public-health assessment rather than waiting for a visible mark or symptoms. For a bat inside a home, contact animal control or an appropriate professional; CDC advises against releasing it before discussing testing with a public-health expert.[7]

A sleeping person may be unable to rule out contact

Minnesota guidance calls for bat assessment/testing when someone wakes with a bat in the room or a bat is found with an unattended young child or someone unable to describe possible contact. This differs from assuming every person who sees a bat needs vaccination. Tell local public-health professionals exactly who was present, whether contact could have occurred and whether the bat is available for testing; they assess the need for post-exposure prevention.[8]

Evidence & uncertainty

Antibiotic prevention depends on species, wound features and clinical risk. NICE treats cat bites differently from dog bites; these are prescribing recommendations rather than a rule that every animal bite needs the same antibiotic. They do not select a personal medicine or dose.[3]

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending

Published questions

Can a small bite mark over a hand joint still require urgent specialist assessment?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. The hand standard highlights penetrating joints and clenched-fist human bites. The visible skin opening does not establish the extent of deeper injury.[2]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Human and Animal bites to the hand

    official guidance · Date not stated
    Selected original professional standard PDF text inspected; not an individual examination · PDF pages 1–2: hand/joint injury, fight bites, referral and functional outcomes

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does NICE treat a bleeding cat bite exactly like every dog bite?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. Its prophylaxis recommendations differ by species and wound features. Clinical assessment selects the indication; the guideline is not a universal antibiotic rule.[3]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does a bite-wound antibiotic replace checking tetanus protection?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC separates treatment of wound bacteria from tetanus prevention, which depends on wound care and immunization assessment. Antibiotics do not prevent tetanus.[4]

Evidence behind this answer

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Are US rabies exposure patterns identical to the global dog-mediated pattern?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. CDC highlights US wildlife such as bats, raccoons, skunks and foxes. WHO describes a global burden dominated by dog transmission; location matters.[5][6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Rabies Prevention and Control

    official guidance · 2025
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · July 2025 potential exposure urgency, US animal patterns and prevention components

  • Rabies

    official guidance · 2026
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · September 2026 global exposure, fifteen-minute washing, PEP and PrEP distinction

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Does rabies vaccination before travel eliminate post-exposure care after a suspect bite?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. WHO says pre-exposure vaccination does not replace post-exposure care. A possible exposure still needs prompt assessment and appropriate prevention.[6]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Rabies

    official guidance · 2026
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · September 2026 global exposure, fifteen-minute washing, PEP and PrEP distinction

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Is bleeding that cannot be stopped after a bite ordinary home wound care?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

No. NHS identifies uncontrollable bleeding or a large or deep wound as reasons for emergency assessment. Cleaning and covering cannot replace that escalation.[1]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Animal and human bites

    official guidance · 2025
    Selected relevant original official page passages inspected · October 2025 scope, cleaning, NHS 111 and emergency warning signs

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Should a bat in a sleeping child’s room be assessed even if no bite is visible?

Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.

Yes. Contact may not be reliably excluded. Seek prompt local medical/public-health advice and professional help with the bat. Local professionals assess whether testing and post-exposure prevention are needed.[8]

Evidence behind this answer
  • Management of Human-Bat Encounters: Animal Bites and Rabies Risk, A Guide for Health Professionals

    official or original practical guidance · 2025
    Fresh complete substantive original Minnesota guidance read; updated February 11, 2025. Only inability to reliably exclude contact and professional risk assessment used. Minnesota testing turnaround/positive fraction, local phone availability, capture procedure and vaccination regimen are not generalized. All linked guide chapters conservatively share one work budget if encountered in the corpus. · Sleeping/unattended-child encounter categories; testing and post-exposure decision context

This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.

Species and wound depth change antibiotic prevention decisions

NICE NG184 recommends antibiotic prophylaxis for a cat bite that breaks skin and draws blood, and considering it for a nonbleeding skin break if the wound may be deep. For dog or other traditional-pet bites, excluding cats, it does not recommend prophylaxis when skin is unbroken or the break has not drawn blood. Its recommendations then distinguish higher-risk bleeding wounds. These are UK clinical assessment decisions, not instructions to self-select antibiotics. The accessible indexed recommendations were inspected; direct full-page retrieval was blocked, limiting independent appraisal of the complete guideline here.[3]

Tetanus prevention is not the job of a bite antibiotic

CDC classifies wounds containing saliva, including animal and human bites, as dirty or major wounds for tetanus assessment. Wound care, vaccination history and sometimes tetanus immune globulin determine protection. Antibiotics are not recommended to prevent tetanus. An antibiotic chosen for bite-wound bacteria cannot replace that separate immunization assessment.[4]

Potential rabies exposure needs prompt professional assessment

CDC advises urgent medical care and immediate contact with a health department after exposure to an animal that may have rabies. In the United States, common rabid wildlife include bats, raccoons, skunks and foxes; pet exposure can also follow contact with wildlife. The animal, location and circumstances matter. Post-exposure prevention can include wound washing, vaccine and immune globulin, according to assessment. This is not an instruction that every bite needs all those products, and it is not safe to wait for human symptoms before asking about a credible exposure.[5]

Global dog-mediated rabies is a different exposure setting

WHO describes dogs as the source of nearly all human rabies globally, with a particularly heavy burden in Asia and Africa. For a potentially rabid bite or scratch, it advises immediate soap-and-water washing for at least fifteen minutes and medical attention. Appropriate post-exposure care prevents the virus reaching the nervous system; vaccine and, when indicated, immune globulin or monoclonal antibodies are distinct components. Vaccination before exposure does not remove the need for post-exposure care. Global exposure patterns cannot be substituted for US wildlife patterns, and a healed-looking wound does not settle rabies risk.[6]

The remaining decisions concern different outcomes

The hand standard emphasizes injury circumstances, tissue damage, infection and function when choosing care. A superficial appearance alone cannot identify which structures were penetrated. Clinical review also provides an opportunity to discuss the person’s work and rehabilitation needs if hand function is affected.[2]

References

  1. Animal and human bites

    Official guidance

    NHS · Content/publication date: 2025
    Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: October 2025 scope, cleaning, NHS 111 and emergency warning signs

  2. Human and Animal bites to the hand

    Official guidance

    British Society for Surgery of the Hand · Content/publication date: not stated
    Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected original professional standard PDF text inspected; not an individual examination
    Cited sections: PDF pages 1–2: hand/joint injury, fight bites, referral and functional outcomes

  3. Human and animal bites: antimicrobial prescribing — Recommendations

    Clinical guideline

    NICE · Content/publication date: 2020
    Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Original indexed recommendation excerpts inspected; direct page returned 403; complete guideline not independently appraised
    Cited sections: NG184 recommendations 1.1.7–1.1.11: cat and dog prophylaxis distinctions

  4. Clinical Guidance for Wound Management to Prevent Tetanus

    Official guidance

    CDC · Content/publication date: 2026
    Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: September 2026 wound classification and vaccine/TIG assessment; footer definition: serious infection from environmental bacteria

  5. Rabies Prevention and Control

    Official guidance

    CDC · Content/publication date: 2025
    Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: July 2025 potential exposure urgency, US animal patterns and prevention components

  6. Rabies

    Official guidance

    WHO · Content/publication date: 2026
    Accessed: 2026-10-14 UTC · Selected relevant original official page passages inspected
    Cited sections: September 2026 global exposure, fifteen-minute washing, PEP and PrEP distinction

  7. Preventing Rabies from Bats

    Official or original practical guidance

    US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention · Content/publication date: 2025
    Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Fresh complete substantive original CDC bat page read. Published June 6, 2024; updated/reviewed July 1, 2025. Used only contact assessment and professional/public-health testing boundary. No do-it-yourself capture method, all-sightings vaccination instruction or individual rabies regimen supplied.
    Cited sections: Tiny/unnoticed bites; possible-contact assessment; professional capture/testing and do-not-release advice

    US public-health contact assessment; a bat sighting and a confirmed rabies exposure are different.

  8. Management of Human-Bat Encounters: Animal Bites and Rabies Risk, A Guide for Health Professionals

    Official or original practical guidance

    Minnesota Department of Health · Content/publication date: 2025
    Accessed: 2026-10-20 UTC · Fresh complete substantive original Minnesota guidance read; updated February 11, 2025. Only inability to reliably exclude contact and professional risk assessment used. Minnesota testing turnaround/positive fraction, local phone availability, capture procedure and vaccination regimen are not generalized. All linked guide chapters conservatively share one work budget if encountered in the corpus.
    Cited sections: Sleeping/unattended-child encounter categories; testing and post-exposure decision context

    Minnesota assessment guidance; inability to report contact matters, with prevention decisions made by local professionals.

Scope & review

Population
General readers; age, exposure and study populations distinguished
Exposure or intervention
Animal bites: wound injury, infection, tetanus and rabies assessment
Comparison
Cat versus dog/human injury patterns; wound bacteria versus tetanus/rabies prevention; US wildlife versus global dog-mediated rabies
Outcomes
Source-specific illness, injuries, skills, preventive behavior and harms
Timeframe
Immediate exposure and source-specific study follow-up
Jurisdiction
UK NHS/NICE/BSSH wound guidance, US CDC immunization/public-health advice and WHO global rabies prevention; local services and vaccine protocols govern individual care.

Selected-source educational explanation. Official guidance, original study findings and editorial interpretation are distinguished. No exhaustive search, independent systematic synthesis or qualified medical review has been completed.

Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.

Revision history
  • 2026-10-14 UTC: Added a sourced explanation in a bounded ten-article batch; qualified review remains pending.
  • 2026-10-20 UTC: Added selected-source definitions, categories, evidence boundaries and distinct practical tasks after a full twenty-target household/environment/safety audit. Eleven guides held unchanged. Existing prose and anchors preserved; qualified review remains pending.

What this article still leaves open

  • What tissue, joint or infection damage needs assessment, and what is the local rabies exposure risk?
  • Species-specific prophylaxis and wound closure require clinical decisions; full NICE retrieval and qualified-review limits remain.
Suggest a correction

Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.

Explore the topic map

Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.