Prevention & care
Acupuncture: comparators, chronic pain, safety, and guideline disagreement
On this page
Acupuncture inserts thin needles through the skin, with manual or electrical stimulation. Placement and session delivery vary. The name does not identify one uniform intervention or establish effectiveness for every condition.[1]
Sham and usual care ask different questions
A sham procedure imitates treatment while changing features such as needle placement or penetration. It can still provide sensation, attention and expectations. Comparing with no acupuncture asks about the whole treatment package; comparing with sham aims to isolate effects beyond that control. The controls are not interchangeable, and contextual effects do not make someone’s pain imaginary.[1]
What the individual-participant review found
The 2018 individual-participant meta-analysis assembled 39 trials with 20,827 participants for chronic back/neck pain, shoulder pain, headache or osteoarthritis. Acupuncture outperformed both sham and non-acupuncture controls overall, with smaller effects against sham. The difference also depended on how the control was delivered. Its search ended in December 2015, so this is a dated synthesis rather than every current trial.[2]
A difference in recommendations is information
A conditional recommendation allows for preferences and circumstances; it does not declare large, certain benefit. Both guidelines concern osteoarthritis care, not effectiveness for every disease.[3]
NICE reports that its evidence was mainly for knee osteoarthritis, with insufficient benefit, some harms and poor cost effectiveness. Electroacupuncture had inconsistent, very-low-quality findings, prompting a research recommendation. These are the committee’s judgments for this guideline, not an independent Atlas appraisal.[5]
The same organization can reach a different condition-specific decision
In NICE’s guideline for ages 16 and older, chronic primary pain has no underlying condition adequately explaining the pain or its impact. Primary and secondary pain can coexist.[6]
For that question, NICE says to consider a single course of acupuncture or dry needling under specified delivery and cost constraints. Its rationale reports short-term benefit and uncertainty about durability, with no evidence to recommend repeat courses. This addresses a different clinical question from its osteoarthritis guideline.[7]
Mechanisms and condition-specific claims
NCCIH describes possible nervous-system, tissue and contextual mechanisms while noting that how acupuncture works is not fully understood. A proposed mechanism cannot establish effectiveness for unrelated diseases. Evidence for pain relief does not establish correction of the underlying disease process.[1]
Needles require safe practice
NCCIH reports relatively few complications when acupuncture is properly performed. Improper delivery can nevertheless cause infections, organ injury or nervous-system injury. Sterile, single-use needles and practitioner qualifications matter. A low average complication rate is not a guarantee that every practitioner, patient or procedure has the same risk.[1]
Evidence & uncertainty
Acupuncture’s pain benefits differ by comparator: smaller differences against sham than against no acupuncture. For osteoarthritis, ACR/Arthritis Foundation conditionally recommends it and NICE advises against offering it. Read the benefit, harm and resource judgments behind that disagreement.[2][3][4]
Selected-source overview · Independent review pendingPublished questions
Is acupuncture one standardized needle treatment?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Manual or electrical stimulation, placement, technique and session schedules vary. Evidence belongs to the studied treatment and condition.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Acupuncture for Chronic Pain: Update of an Individual Patient Data Meta-Analysis
individual participant meta analysis · 2018
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · 39 trials, 20,827 participants, sham/non-acupuncture controls and control-related differences
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Why do sham and no-acupuncture comparisons give different answers?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
They assess different contributions. Sham can retain sensation, expectations and therapeutic attention; a no-acupuncture control removes more of the treatment package.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Acupuncture for Chronic Pain: Update of an Individual Patient Data Meta-Analysis
individual participant meta analysis · 2018
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · 39 trials, 20,827 participants, sham/non-acupuncture controls and control-related differences
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does chronic-pain evidence prove acupuncture cures the underlying disease?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. The cited trials assess pain-related outcomes in selected conditions. Relief does not demonstrate reversal of every underlying disease.[2]
Evidence behind this answer
- Acupuncture for Chronic Pain: Update of an Individual Patient Data Meta-Analysis
individual participant meta analysis · 2018
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · 39 trials, 20,827 participants, sham/non-acupuncture controls and control-related differences
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Why do major guidelines disagree about acupuncture for osteoarthritis?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
ACR conditionally supports it; NICE advises against offering it. NICE’s committee judged the evidence to show insufficient benefit, potential harm and poor cost effectiveness. Recommendations involve evidence interpretation and care context; this page has not independently reappraised both evidence bases.[3][4][5]
Evidence behind this answer
- 2019 ACR/Arthritis Foundation Guideline for Management of Osteoarthritis of the Hand, Hip, and Knee
clinical guideline · 2020
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · Conditional acupuncture recommendation; shared decisions and resource context - Osteoarthritis in over 16s: diagnosis and management — NG226 recommendations
clinical guideline · 2022
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · Recommendation 1.3.8: do not offer acupuncture or dry needling - Osteoarthritis in over 16s — NG226 rationale and impact
guideline rationale · 2022
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · Acupuncture: predominantly knee evidence, harms/economics and uncertain electroacupuncture
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does NICE advise against acupuncture for every chronic-pain condition?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
No. Its chronic-primary-pain guideline considers a limited course under cost and delivery conditions. That is a different clinical question from osteoarthritis; an organizational position needs the condition and guideline specified.[7]
Evidence behind this answer
- Chronic pain — NG193 rationale and impact
guideline rationale · 2021
Indexed official guideline passages inspected · Acupuncture for chronic primary pain: short-term benefits, limited course, delivery/cost and repeat-course uncertainty
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Does NICE consider cost effectiveness in its acupuncture recommendation?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Yes. Its rationale considers clinical evidence and economic analyses. A recommendation to offer treatment involves more than whether any trial reports symptom improvement.[5]
Evidence behind this answer
- Osteoarthritis in over 16s — NG226 rationale and impact
guideline rationale · 2022
Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked · Acupuncture: predominantly knee evidence, harms/economics and uncertain electroacupuncture
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
Can improperly performed acupuncture cause serious harm?
Selected-source overview · Independent review pending. Read the evidence context.
Yes. Infection and organ or nervous-system injury can occur. Proper training and sterile, single-use needles are important safeguards.[1]
Evidence behind this answer
- Acupuncture: Effectiveness and Safety
agency evidence summary · Date not stated
Selected relevant page text or original publication abstract inspected · Needle techniques, sham comparisons, uncertain mechanisms and complications
This answer summarizes selected sources. An independent appraisal of the complete evidence has not been completed.
The osteoarthritis disagreement
| Source | Position and context |
|---|---|
| ACR/Arthritis Foundation, 2019 guideline published 2020 | Conditional recommendation for hand, hip and knee osteoarthritis.[3] |
| NICE, 2022 osteoarthritis guideline | Do not offer acupuncture or dry needling for osteoarthritis. This recommendation is for this condition and UK care context.[4] |
| NICE rationale | The committee considered clinical-effectiveness and economic evidence; acupuncture was not judged cost effective.[5] |
What this introduction does not settle
Migraine prevention, pregnancy-related symptoms, oncology support and other condition-specific uses need dedicated updated reviews. This page does not choose an individual treatment or evaluate a particular practitioner.
How these sources are connected
Reference counts do not count independent studies. Known relationships in this article:
- NICE NG226 recommendations and rationale: These are two parts of one guideline, not independent evidence syntheses.[4][5]
- NICE NG193 recommendations and rationale: These summarize one guideline, not two independent evidence syntheses.[6][7]
These are selected documented relationships, not a complete audit of overlap among all cited studies.
References
- Acupuncture: Effectiveness and Safety
Agency evidence summary
NCCIH · Content/publication date: not stated
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Selected relevant page text or original publication abstract inspected
Cited sections: Needle techniques, sham comparisons, uncertain mechanisms and complicationsRelevant passages inspected. The agency summary also cites the Vickers review; it is not an independent additional set of trials.
- Acupuncture for Chronic Pain: Update of an Individual Patient Data Meta-Analysis
Individual participant meta analysis
Vickers AJ and colleagues · Content/publication date: 2018
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked
Cited sections: 39 trials, 20,827 participants, sham/non-acupuncture controls and control-related differencesPublished online 2017; issue 2018. Search through December 2015. Original indexed abstract inspected; no independent trial-level reanalysis.
- 2019 ACR/Arthritis Foundation Guideline for Management of Osteoarthritis of the Hand, Hip, and Knee
Clinical guideline
Kolasinski SL and colleagues · Content/publication date: 2020
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked
Cited sections: Conditional acupuncture recommendation; shared decisions and resource context - Osteoarthritis in over 16s: diagnosis and management — NG226 recommendations
Clinical guideline
NICE · Content/publication date: 2022
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked
Cited sections: Recommendation 1.3.8: do not offer acupuncture or dry needling - Osteoarthritis in over 16s — NG226 rationale and impact
Guideline rationale
NICE · Content/publication date: 2022
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked
Cited sections: Acupuncture: predominantly knee evidence, harms/economics and uncertain electroacupuncture - Chronic pain — NG193 recommendations
Clinical guideline
NICE · Content/publication date: 2021
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed original-source passages inspected; direct retrieval blocked
Cited sections: Chronic primary/secondary definitions, ages 16+, recommendation 1.2.5 - Chronic pain — NG193 rationale and impact
Guideline rationale
NICE · Content/publication date: 2021
Accessed: 2026-10-07 UTC · Indexed official guideline passages inspected
Cited sections: Acupuncture for chronic primary pain: short-term benefits, limited course, delivery/cost and repeat-course uncertaintyIndexed official passages inspected; the NG193 recommendation page separately returned 403. This is not a complete independent guideline appraisal.
Scope & review
- Population
- Selected adult chronic-pain conditions; osteoarthritis guideline comparison
- Exposure or intervention
- Manual/electrical needle acupuncture with varying techniques
- Comparison
- Sham versus no acupuncture/usual care; controls are not interchangeable
- Outcomes
- Pain and related function; disease modification not established
- Timeframe
- 2018 synthesis searched through December 2015; 2020/2022 guideline publications
- Jurisdiction
- US ACR/NCCIH and UK NICE; costs, training and treatment access vary
Targeted educational explanation from selected official sources, original guidelines and primary publications. Not an exhaustive systematic review, individualized treatment plan or qualified medical signoff.
Sources checked on their individual access dates. Selected sources were checked; ongoing surveillance and qualified review have separate statuses on the coverage page.
Revision history
- 2026-10-07 UTC: Added definitions, categories, evidence comparisons, harms, applicability limits and sourced reader questions. Qualified review remains pending.
What this article still leaves open
- Updated condition-specific effect sizes, durability, adverse-event rates and comparator appraisal.
- Differences by technique, patient group, practitioner qualifications and local costs.
Suggest a correction
Submit a content correction to the editorial queue, or download a local note. Leave out personal medical details. Submitted text is stored privately with a browser receipt session and is visible to this browser and the editor. Clearing cookies removes access to your submission history. This is not an account or a medical service.
Your submitted corrections for this article
Explore the topic map
Browse the health domains connected to this article. The map also identifies topics whose articles remain unwritten.